List of All Counties in New York

Below is a list of all 62 counties in the state of New York:


Counties in New York
Counties in New York 

What were the 12 original counties of New York?

The Province of New York, originally a Dutch colony known as New Netherland, was divided into 12 original counties on November 1, 1683, following its acquisition by the English. These original counties were created by a proclamation from Governor Thomas Dongan and were intended to facilitate governance and administration. The 12 original counties are as follows:

  1. Albany County: Covered present-day Albany, as well as parts of Vermont.
  2. Cornwall County: Located in present-day Maine, it was transferred to Massachusetts shortly after being established.
  3. Dukes County: Also located in present-day Maine, it was transferred to Massachusetts shortly after being established.
  4. Dutchess County: Established in the Hudson Valley and was significantly larger than its current form.
  5. Kings County: Corresponds to present-day Brooklyn.
  6. Monmouth County: Created as part of New York, but was soon transferred to New Jersey.
  7. New York County: Corresponds to present-day Manhattan.
  8. Orange County: Created in the Hudson Valley, originally much larger than it is today.
  9. Queens County: Included not just present-day Queens, but also Nassau County.
  10. Richmond County: Corresponds to present-day Staten Island.
  11. Suffolk County: Covers the eastern part of Long Island.
  12. Westchester County: Located directly north of New York City, originally much larger than it is today.

It’s important to note that the boundaries and jurisdictions of many of these original counties have changed over the years. Some were subdivided to form new counties, and others had their borders modified. Counties like Cornwall and the Dukes were transferred to other colonies or states, while Monmouth became a part of New Jersey.

How many counties are in New York?

New York State is divided into 62 counties. These counties range in size and population, with some, like New York County (Manhattan), being highly urbanized, while others, like Hamilton County, are more rural. Each county serves as an administrative division and has its own local government structures for various services and responsibilities.

What are counties called in New York?

In New York State, administrative divisions are simply referred to as “counties.” Each county has its own local government and administrative structures, which may include a county executive, a legislature or board of supervisors, various departments, and courts. The specific names of these counties range from geographical identifiers like “Suffolk County” to names honoring historical figures or the Dutch and English heritage of the region, like “Dutchess County” or “Kings County.”

In summary, the term used for these administrative divisions in New York is “county,” and there are 62 counties in the state.

What are the 5 counties in New York City?

New York City is unique in that it is a city composed of five boroughs, each of which is also a county within the state of New York. These boroughs are:
  1. Manhattan – Officially known as New York County
  2. Brooklyn – Officially known as Kings County
  3. Queens – Officially known as Queens County
  4. The Bronx – Officially known as Bronx County
  5. Staten Island – Officially known as Richmond County

Each borough has its own distinct culture, demographics, and attractions, but they all fall under the governance of New York City as a whole, which is led by a mayor and a city council. The boroughs also each have a Borough President, who acts as an advocate for the borough in the city government.