Cities, Towns and Villages in Otsego County, New York

Otsego County is located in central New York and is known for its scenic landscapes, including lakes, hills, and valleys. The county is made up of a variety of cities, towns, and villages. Here’s an overview of all the cities, towns, and villages in Otsego County, New York:

Cities in Otsego County

  • Oneonta

Towns in Otsego County

  • Burlington
  • Butternuts
  • Cherry Valley
  • Decatur
  • Edmeston
  • Exeter
  • Hartwick
  • Laurens
  • Maryland
  • Middlefield
  • Milford
  • Morris
  • New Lisbon
  • Oneonta (Town)
  • Otego
  • Otsego
  • Pittsfield
  • Plainfield
  • Richfield
  • Roseboom
  • Springfield
  • Unadilla
  • Westford
  • Worcester

Villages in Otsego County

  • Cherry Valley (in the Town of Cherry Valley)
  • Cooperstown (in the Town of Otsego)
  • Gilbertsville (in the Town of Butternuts)
  • Laurens (in the Town of Laurens)
  • Milford (in the Town of Milford)
  • Morris (in the Town of Morris)
  • Otego (in the Town of Otego)
  • Richfield Springs (in the Town of Richfield)
  • Unadilla (in the Town of Unadilla)

Geographic Details

  • Total Area: Approximately 1,016 square miles
  • Land Area: Roughly 1,002 square miles
  • Water Area: About 14 square miles, including Otsego Lake.


Major Highways

  • Interstate 88
  • U.S. Route 20
  • New York State Route 7
  • New York State Route 28
  • New York State Route 51
  • New York State Route 80
  • New York State Route 166


  • The estimated population of Otsego County is around 59,000 according to the most recent data available.

Otsego County is most famous for hosting the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown. It is also well known for its agricultural activities and recreational areas, especially around Otsego Lake.

Otsego NY map and seal
Otsego NY map and seal