Cities, Towns, and Villages in Ulster County, New York

List of All Cities, Towns, Hamlets and Villages in Ulster County, New York.

Ulster County is located in the state of New York, specifically in the Hudson Valley region. Below is a list of its cities, towns, villages, and hamlets, along with some relevant details:

Cities in Ulster County

  1. Kingston – Serves as the county seat.

Towns in Ulster County

  1. Denning
  2. Esopus
  3. Gardiner
  4. Hardenburgh
  5. Hurley
  6. Kingston (Town)
  7. Lloyd
  8. Marbletown
  9. Marlborough
  10. New Paltz
  11. Olive
  12. Plattekill
  13. Rochester
  14. Rosendale
  15. Saugerties
  16. Shawangunk
  17. Shandaken
  18. Ulster
  19. Wawarsing
  20. Woodstock

Villages in Ulster County

  1. Ellenville – Located within the Town of Wawarsing.
  2. New Paltz – Located within the Town of New Paltz.
  3. Saugerties – located within the Town of Saugerties.


  • Accord (Town of Rochester)
  • Bearsville (Town of Woodstock)
  • Boiceville (Town of Olive)
  • Clintondale (Town of Plattekill)
  • Cragsmoor (Town of Wawarsing)
  • High Falls (Town of Marbletown)
  • Kerhonkson (Town of Rochester)
  • Modena (Town of Plattekill)
  • Phoenicia (Town of Shandaken)
  • Pine Hill (Town of Shandaken)
  • Stone Ridge (Town of Marbletown)
  • Wallkill (Town of Shawangunk)
  • West Hurley (Town of Hurley)


  • Population: As of the 2020 U.S. Census, the estimated population of Ulster County was around 180,000.
  • Area: The total area of Ulster County is approximately 1,161 square miles.
  • Borders: The county borders Greene County to the north, Dutchess County to the east, Orange County to the south, and Sullivan and Delaware counties to the west.
  • Zip Codes: Multiple Zip Codes exist within the county, ranging from 12401 (Kingston) to 12589 (Wallkill).
  • Major Highways: The county is served by several major highways, including New York State Thruway (I-87), U.S. Route 9W, and New York State Route 28.