Counties in North Dakota

North Dakota is divided into 53 counties. Here is the complete list:

List of All Counties in North Dakota

  1. Adams County
  2. Barnes County
  3. Benson County
  4. Billings County
  5. Bottineau County
  6. Bowman County
  7. Burke County
  8. Burleigh County
  9. Cass County
  10. Cavalier County
  11. Dickey County
  12. Divide County
  13. Dunn County
  14. Eddy County
  15. Emmons County
  16. Foster County
  17. Golden Valley County
  18. Grand Forks County
  19. Grant County
  20. Griggs County
  21. Hettinger County
  22. Kidder County
  23. LaMoure County
  24. Logan County
  25. McHenry County
  26. McIntosh County
  27. McKenzie County
  28. McLean County
  29. Mercer County
  30. Morton County
  31. Mountrail County
  32. Nelson County
  33. Oliver County
  34. Pembina County
  35. Pierce County
  36. Ramsey County
  37. Ransom County
  38. Renville County
  39. Richland County
  40. Rolette County
  41. Sargent County
  42. Sheridan County
  43. Sioux County
  44. Slope County
  45. Stark County
  46. Steele County
  47. Stutsman County
  48. Towner County
  49. Traill County
  50. Walsh County
  51. Ward County
  52. Wells County
  53. Williams County

Quick Facts about North Dakota

North Dakota map and seal
North Dakota map and seal


Category Quick Facts
Geography Located in the Upper Midwest region of the U.S.
History Became a state on November 2, 1889
Economy Known for agriculture, energy production (oil and coal), and manufacturing
Climate Continental climate with cold winters and warm summers
Natural Attractions Theodore Roosevelt National Park, Lake Sakakawea, Sheyenne National Grassland
Culture Strong Native American and Scandinavian cultural influences
Miscellaneous State bird is the Western Meadowlark, State flower is the Wild Prairie Rose
Population Approximately 779,702 as of 2020 Census
Notable People Theodore Roosevelt, Josh Duhamel, Peggy Lee
Notable Places Bismarck, Fargo, Grand Forks
Bordering States Borders Minnesota to the east, South Dakota to the south, Montana to the west, and Canada (Manitoba and Saskatchewan) to the north
Official Website


Related: List of All 50 States in USA