Cities, Towns and Villages in Orleans County, New York

Orleans County is located in the western part of New York State. The county is primarily rural and agricultural, with several cities, towns, and villages contributing to its character. Here’s an outline of all Cities, Towns and Villages in Orleans County, New York:

Cities in Orleans County

  • Orleans County does not have any cities.

Towns in Orleans County

  • Albion
  • Barre
  • Carlton
  • Clarendon
  • Gaines
  • Kendall
  • Murray
  • Ridgeway
  • Shelby
  • Yates

Villages in Orleans County

  • Albion (in the Town of Albion)
  • Holley (in the Town of Murray)
  • Lyndonville (in the Town of Yates)
  • Medina (partly in the Town of Ridgeway and partly in the Town of Shelby)

Geographic Details

  • Total Area: Approximately 818 square miles
  • Land Area: Roughly 391 square miles
  • Water Area: About 427 square miles, including part of Lake Ontario.


  • Orleans County is bordered by Niagara County to the west, Genesee County to the south, Monroe County to the east, and Lake Ontario to the north.

Major Highways

  • New York State Route 31
  • New York State Route 98
  • New York State Route 104
  • New York State Route 279


  • The estimated population of Orleans County is around 41,000 according to the most recent data available.

Orleans County is known for its farmlands, apple orchards, and scenic beauty, particularly along the shores of Lake Ontario. The Erie Canal also runs through the county, contributing to its historical and cultural significance.



Orleans NY map and seal
Orleans NY map and seal