Cities, Towns and Villages in Rensselaer County, New York

Rensselaer County is located in the state of New York, within the Capital District. The county has a mix of cities, towns, and villages. Below is an overview of all Cities, Towns and Villages in Rensselaer County, New York.

Cities in Rensselaer County

  • Rensselaer
  • Troy (County Seat)

Towns in Rensselaer County

  • Berlin
  • Brunswick
  • East Greenbush
  • Grafton
  • Hoosick
  • Nassau
  • North Greenbush
  • Petersburgh
  • Pittstown
  • Poestenkill
  • Sand Lake
  • Schaghticoke
  • Schodack
  • Stephentown

Villages in Rensselaer County

  • Castleton-on-Hudson (in the Town of Schodack)
  • East Nassau (in the Town of Nassau)
  • Hoosick Falls (in the Town of Hoosick)
  • Nassau (in the Town of Nassau)
  • Schaghticoke (in the Town of Schaghticoke)
  • Valley Falls (in the Town of Pittstown)

Geographic Details

  • Total Area: Approximately 665 square miles
  • Land Area: Roughly 653 square miles
  • Water Area: About 12 square miles, including parts of the Hudson River.


  • Rensselaer County is bordered by Washington County to the north, Bennington County, Vermont, to the east, Columbia County to the south, and Albany County to the west.

Major Highways

  • Interstate 90
  • U.S. Route 4
  • U.S. Route 20
  • U.S. Route 9
  • New York State Route 7
  • New York State Route 2
  • New York State Route 40


  • The estimated population of Rensselaer County is around 160,000 according to the most recent data available.

Rensselaer County offers a mix of urban and rural communities, each with its unique character and attractions. The area features numerous parks, historic sites, and educational institutions like Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI) in Troy.


Rensselaer NY map and seal
Rensselaer NY map and seal