Counties in South Carolina

South Carolina is made up of 46 counties. Here is the complete list:

List of All Counties in South Carolina

  1. Abbeville County
  2. Aiken County
  3. Allendale County
  4. Anderson County
  5. Bamberg County
  6. Barnwell County
  7. Beaufort County
  8. Berkeley County
  9. Calhoun County
  10. Charleston County
  11. Cherokee County
  12. Chester County
  13. Chesterfield County
  14. Clarendon County
  15. Colleton County
  16. Darlington County
  17. Dillon County
  18. Dorchester County
  19. Edgefield County
  20. Fairfield County
  21. Florence County
  22. Georgetown County
  23. Greenville County
  24. Greenwood County
  25. Hampton County
  26. Horry County
  27. Jasper County
  28. Kershaw County
  29. Lancaster County
  30. Laurens County
  31. Lee County
  32. Lexington County
  33. Marion County
  34. Marlboro County
  35. McCormick County
  36. Newberry County
  37. Oconee County
  38. Orangeburg County
  39. Pickens County
  40. Richland County
  41. Saluda County
  42. Spartanburg County
  43. Sumter County
  44. Union County
  45. Williamsburg County
  46. York County


Quick Facts about South Carolina

South Carolina map and seal
South Carolina map and seal


Category Quick Facts
Geography Located in the Southeastern region of the U.S.
History One of the original 13 colonies; became a state on May 23, 1788
Economy Diverse economy with agriculture, manufacturing, and tourism
Climate Varies from humid subtropical in the north to tropical in the south
Natural Attractions Myrtle Beach, Hilton Head Island, Congaree National Park
Culture Rich cultural heritage, known for Gullah Geechee culture and Southern hospitality
Miscellaneous State bird is the Carolina Wren, State flower is the Yellow Jessamine
Population Approximately 5.2 million as of 2020 Census
Notable People DuBose Heyward, Eartha Kitt, Dizzy Gillespie
Notable Places Columbia, Charleston, Greenville
Official Website


Related: List of All 50 States in USA