Counties in Maine

Maine is made up of 16 counties. Here is the complete list:

Full List of All Counties in Maine

  1. Androscoggin County
  2. Aroostook County
  3. Cumberland County
  4. Franklin County
  5. Hancock County
  6. Kennebec County
  7. Knox County
  8. Lincoln County
  9. Oxford County
  10. Penobscot County
  11. Piscataquis County
  12. Sagadahoc County
  13. Somerset County
  14. Waldo County
  15. Washington County
  16. York County
Maine map and seal
Maine map and seal


Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Geography Located in the New England region of the U.S.
History Became the 23rd state of the U.S. on March 15, 1820
Economy Known for shipbuilding, fishing, and tourism
Climate Humid continental climate with cold winters and warm summers
Natural Attractions Acadia National Park, Mount Katahdin
Culture Famous for its seafood cuisine, especially lobster and clams
Miscellaneous State bird is the Chickadee, State flower is the White Pine Cone and Tassel
Population Approximately 1.3 million people as of 2020 Census
Notable People Stephen King, Anna Kendrick, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
Notable Places Portland, Bangor, Bar Harbor
Bordering States Borders New Hampshire to the west and is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean to the east and southeast
Official Website


Related: List of All 50 States in the United States

What county in Maine has the highest population?

  • According to the information I found, Cumberland County in Maine has the highest population. As of the 2020 census, its population was 303,069, making it the most populous county in Maine.

What counties are in Western Maine?

  • Western Maine comprises several counties. The specific counties in Western Maine are Androscoggin County, Franklin County, and Oxford County. These counties offer a range of attractions, including mountain ranges, glacial lakes, and vibrant communities with rich histories.

How many Maine counties are there?

  • Maine has a total of 16 counties, as listed above

What is the largest and northernmost county in Maine?

  • The largest and northernmost county in Maine is Aroostook County. It covers a huge area—about the same size as Connecticut and Rhode Island put together—and is called “the County” by its people. You can find Aroostook County in the northeastern part of the state. It borders Canada.

Read More: