Cities, Towns and Plantations in Knox County, Maine

Here is a complete list of cities, towns, plantations, and villages in Knox County, Maine


  1. Rockland


  1. Appleton
  2. Camden
  3. Cushing
  4. Friendship
  5. Hope
  6. North Haven
  7. Owls Head
  8. Rockport
  9. Saint George
  10. South Thomaston
  11. Thomaston
  12. Union
  13. Vinalhaven
  14. Warren
  15. Washington


  1. Isle au Haut
  2. Matinicus Isle Plantation


There are no designated villages in Knox County, Maine, USA. However, the county comprises various towns and plantations, as previously mentioned.

Quick Facts

Category Quick Fact
Location Situated in the southern region of the state of Maine, bordered by Waldo County to the northeast, Lincoln County to the east and southeast, and the Atlantic Ocean to the south and southwest
County Seat The county seat of Knox County is the city of Rockland
Population The population of Knox County is approximately 39,700 residents.
Area Knox County spans an area of about 1,142 square miles (2,957 square kilometers)
Geography The county features a picturesque coastline along the Penobscot Bay and includes several islands, such as Vinalhaven and North Haven. The region is characterized by its rolling hills, forests, and a mix of rural and coastal communities.
Notable Places The Farnsworth Art Museum, the Maine Lighthouse Museum, and the Owls Head Transportation Museum. The county is also known for its scenic coastal towns and picturesque landscapes.
Economy The economy of Knox County is driven by industries such as tourism, fishing, maritime activities, agriculture, and small-scale manufacturing. The region’s coastal location also supports a thriving lobster industry and other seafood-related businesses.
Education The county is served by various public-school districts, as well as private and charter schools. Higher education opportunities are available through nearby institutions such as the University of Maine at Augusta and the University of Maine at Rockland.
History Knox County was established on April 1, 1860, and was named after American Revolutionary War general Henry Knox
Official Website


What is Knox County Maine famous for?

  • Maritime Heritage: With its extensive coastline and historical ties to maritime industries, Knox County is celebrated for its rich maritime heritage, including its traditional shipbuilding and fishing industries.
  • Lobster Industry: The county is particularly well-known for its thriving lobster industry, which plays a significant role in its economy. The local lobster catch is often recognized for its quality and abundance.
  • Picturesque Coastal Towns: Knox County boasts several charming and picturesque coastal towns, such as Camden, Rockland, and Rockport, which draw visitors and tourists for their scenic beauty, historic architecture, and vibrant cultural scenes.
  • Arts and Culture: The county is home to the renowned Farnsworth Art Museum in Rockland, which showcases a significant collection of American art, including works by local and nationally acclaimed artists. It also hosts various cultural events and festivals throughout the year.
  • Outdoor Recreation: Knox County is known for its diverse outdoor recreational opportunities, including hiking, boating, fishing, and other water-based activities. Its natural landscapes, including the islands and inland areas, attract outdoor enthusiasts and nature lovers from around the world.

How big is Knox County Maine?

  • Knox County, located in the state of Maine, USA, spans an area of approximately 1,142 square miles (2,957 square kilometers). The county’s expansive territory includes diverse landscapes, encompassing coastal areas, islands, inland communities, and picturesque natural surroundings.

What is the largest town in Knox County Maine?

  • Rockland is the largest town in Knox County, Maine, USA. With a bustling waterfront and a vibrant downtown area, Rockland serves as a significant economic and cultural hub within the county.

Read More: