Regions in Morocco

Morocco is divided into 12 administrative regions. Here is a list of all the regions in Morocco:

Regions in Morocco

  1. Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima
  2. Oriental
  3. Fes-Meknes
  4. Rabat-Sale-Kenitra
  5. Beni Mellal-Khenifra
  6. Casablanca-Settat
  7. Marrakech-Safi
  8. Draa-Tafilalet
  9. Souss-Massa
  10. Guelmim-Oued Noun
  11. Laayoune-Sakia El Hamra
  12. Dakhla-Oued Ed-Dahab

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Northwest Africa, bordered by the Atlantic Ocean and the Mediterranean Sea to the west and north, and Algeria to the east
Capital Rabat
Official Languages Arabic and Amazigh (Berber)
Population Approximately 36.9 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 446,550 square kilometers (172,410 square miles)
Geography Diverse landscapes, including the Atlas Mountains, Sahara Desert, and a lengthy coastline
Independence From France on March 2, 1956 (from Spain on April 7, 1956, in the northern part)
Government Constitutional monarchy with an elected parliament
Currency Moroccan dirham (MAD)
Notable Places Marrakech, Fes, Casablanca, Atlas Mountains, Sahara Desert
Official Website [Official Portal of the Kingdom of Morocco](


Morocco flag and map
Morocco flag and map


Is Morocco known for its rich cultural heritage and historic cities?

Yes, Morocco is famous for its vibrant culture, historic cities like Marrakech and Fes, and the preservation of traditional arts and crafts.

What is the Sahara Desert, and how does it relate to Morocco?

The Sahara Desert is a vast desert region, and a part of it extends into southern Morocco. Morocco’s southern regions include desert landscapes that are part of the Sahara.

Can you visit the Atlas Mountains in Morocco?

Yes, the Atlas Mountains in Morocco are a popular destination for tourists, offering hiking and scenic views.

See More: