Provinces in Mozambique

Mozambique is divided into 10 provinces. Here is a list of all the provinces of Mozambique:

Provinces in Mozambique

  1. Cabo Delgado
  2. Gaza
  3. Inhambane
  4. Manica
  5. Maputo (city)
  6. Maputo (province)
  7. Nampula
  8. Niassa
  9. Sofala
  10. Tete
  11. Zambezia

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Southeast Africa, bordered by the Indian Ocean to the east, Tanzania to the north, Malawi and Zambia to the northwest, Zimbabwe to the west, Eswatini (formerly Swaziland) and South Africa to the southwest
Capital Maputo
Official Language Portuguese
Population Approximately 32.1 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 801,590 square kilometers (309,496 square miles)
Geography Diverse landscapes, including a long coastline, savannas, mountains, and the Zambezi River
Independence From Portugal on June 25, 1975
Government Republic with a presidential system
Currency Mozambican metical (MZN)
Notable Places Gorongosa National Park, Bazaruto Archipelago, Ilha de Moçambique (Mozambique Island)
Official Website [Government of the Republic of Mozambique](


What is the major natural feature in Mozambique?

Mozambique is known for its extensive coastline along the Indian Ocean and the Zambezi River.

Are there any notable national parks in Mozambique?

Yes, Gorongosa National Park is a notable conservation area in Mozambique, known for its diverse wildlife.

Is Portuguese the only language spoken in Mozambique?

While Portuguese is the official language, there are numerous indigenous languages spoken in Mozambique, including Emakhuwa, Xichangana, and others.


Mozambique map and flag
Mozambique map and flag


See More: