Regions in Guinea

Guinea is divided into 8 administrative regions. Here is a list of all the regions in Guinea:

List of all Regions in Guinea

  1. Boké
  2. Conakry
  3. Faranah
  4. Kankan
  5. Kindia
  6. Labé
  7. Mamou
  8. Nzérékoré

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location West Africa, bordered by Guinea-Bissau, Senegal, Mali, Cote d’Ivoire, Liberia, and Sierra Leone
Capital Conakry
Official Language French
Population Approximately 13 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 245,857 square kilometers (94,926 square miles)
Geography Diverse with mountains, plateaus, and a coastline along the Atlantic Ocean
Independence From France on October 2, 1958
Government Presidential republic
Currency Guinean franc (GNF)
Notable Places Fouta Djallon Highlands, Mount Nimba, Îles de Los
Official Website Not available


What are the 4 regions of Guinea?

Guinea has four natural regions, each with its own distinct geographical and environmental characteristics. Here are the four regions of Guinea:

  1. Guinea Maritime (La Basse-Côte): This region is located along the Atlantic coast in the western part of Guinea. It has a humid tropical climate and is characterized by lush vegetation, including rainforests and mangroves. The capital city, Conakry, is located in this region.
  2. Middle Guinea (La Moyenne-Côte): This region is situated in the central part of Guinea and is characterized by its mountainous terrain. It includes the Fouta Djallon Plateau, which is known for its highlands, waterfalls, and rivers. The climate here is milder than in other parts of the country.
  3. Upper Guinea (La Haute-Côte): Located in the northeastern part of Guinea, Upper Guinea is characterized by its savannahs and dry woodlands. This region has a hot and dry climate and is less densely populated than other parts of the country.
  4. Forest Guinea (La Guinée Forestière): This region is located in the southeastern part of Guinea and is known for its dense rainforests. It has a humid tropical climate and is rich in biodiversity. Forest Guinea is sparsely populated and is home to various indigenous ethnic groups.

These four regions together make up the diverse and ecologically varied landscape of Guinea. Each region has its unique characteristics and plays a significant role in the country’s culture, economy, and environment.

What are the different parts of Guinea?

  1. Conakry Region: This is the capital region, which includes the capital city, Conakry. It is not divided into prefectures and is treated as a special zone.
  2. Boké Region: The Boké Region is known for its mining activities, particularly bauxite mining. It includes the city of Boké and other towns.
  3. Kindia Region: Kindia is an important agricultural region and is known for its rice cultivation. The city of Kindia is the regional capital.
  4. Labé Region: Located in the Fouta Djallon highlands, Labé is a region with a cooler climate. Labé is the regional capital and an important town in this region.
  5. Nzérékoré Region: This region is situated in the forested southeastern part of Guinea. It is known for its rich biodiversity and includes the city of Nzérékoré.
  6. Kankan Region: Kankan is an important economic and transportation hub in the eastern part of Guinea. The city of Kankan is the regional capital.
  7. Faranah Region: Located in the central part of Guinea, Faranah is known for its agriculture, and the city of Faranah serves as the regional capital.
  8. Mamou Region: Mamou is a region with a varied landscape, including highlands and savannahs. The city of Mamou is its regional capital.

How many districts are there in Guinea?

  • Guinea does not have a system of administrative districts. Instead, the country is divided into administrative regions, each of which is further subdivided into prefectures and sub-prefectures. These administrative regions serve as the primary territorial divisions within Guinea.
Guinea Flag
Guinea Flag


See More: