Regions in Mauritania

Mauritania is divided into 15 regions. Here is a list of all the regions of Mauritania:

Regions in Mauritania

  1. Adrar
  2. Assaba
  3. Brakna
  4. Dakhlet Nouadhibou
  5. Gorgol
  6. Guidimaka
  7. Hodh Ech Chargui
  8. Hodh El Gharbi
  9. Inchiri
  10. Nouakchott Nord
  11. Nouakchott Ouest
  12. Nouakchott Sud
  13. Tagant
  14. Tiris Zemmour
  15. Trarza

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Northwest Africa, bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the west, Western Sahara to the north and northwest, Algeria to the northeast, Mali to the east and southeast, and Senegal to the southwest
Capital Nouakchott
Official Language Arabic
Population Approximately 4.8 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 1,030,700 square kilometers (397,955 square miles)
Geography Predominantly desert, with the Sahara Desert covering much of the country
Independence From France on November 28, 1960
Government Presidential republic
Currency Mauritanian ouguiya (MRU)
Notable Places Chinguetti, Banc d’Arguin National Park, Terjit Oasis
Official Website Not available


What is the major economic activity in Mauritania?

Fishing and mining are major economic activities in Mauritania. The country is known for its iron ore deposits.

Does Mauritania have a nomadic population?

Yes, Mauritania has a significant nomadic population, particularly among the Moors, who traditionally engage in nomadic herding.

Is Nouakchott one of the largest cities in the Sahara region?

Yes, Nouakchott, the capital of Mauritania, is one of the largest cities in the Sahara region.

Mauritania map and flag
Mauritania map and flag


See More: