Regions in Ghana

Ghana is divided into 16 regions. Here is a list of all the regions in Ghana:

List of Regions in Ghana

  1. Ashanti
  2. Bono
  3. Bono East
  4. Central
  5. Eastern
  6. Greater Accra
  7. North East
  8. Northern
  9. Oti
  10. Savannah
  11. Upper East
  12. Upper West
  13. Volta
  14. Western
  15. Western North
  16. Ahafo

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location West Africa, bordered by Cote d’Ivoire, Burkina Faso, Togo, and the Gulf of Guinea
Capital Accra
Official Language English
Population Approximately 31 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 238,535 square kilometers (92,099 square miles)
Geography Diverse landscape with coasts, forests, and savannas
Independence From the United Kingdom on March 6, 1957
Government Presidential republic
Currency Ghanaian cedi (GHS)
Notable Places Cape Coast Castle, Kakum National Park, Mole National Park
Official Website


Ghana flag
Ghana flag


What is the 16 regions in Ghana and their capitals?

  • Greater Accra Region – Capital: Accra
  • Ashanti Region – Capital: Kumasi
  • Western Region – Capital: Sekondi-Takoradi
  • Central Region – Capital: Cape Coast
  • Eastern Region – Capital: Koforidua
  • Volta Region – Capital: Ho
  • Northern Region – Capital: Tamale
  • Upper East Region – Capital: Bolgatanga
  • Upper West Region – Capital: Wa
  • Bono Region – Capital: Sunyani
  • Bono East Region – Capital: Techiman
  • Ahafo Region – Capital: Goaso
  • Savannah Region – Capital: Damongo
  • North East Region – Capital: Nalerigu
  • Oti Region – Capital: Dambai
  • Western North Region – Capital: Sefwi Wiawso

What is the most popular region in Ghana?

  • The most popular region in Ghana is the Greater Accra Region. It has the highest population among all the regions in Ghana, accounting for 17.7% of the country’s total population in 2021. The Greater Accra Region is home to the capital city of Accra and is known for its urbanization and economic activities.

See More: