Districts in Mauritius

Mauritius is divided into 9 districts. Here is a list of all the districts of Mauritius:

List of Districts in Mauritius

  1. Port Louis
  2. Pamplemousses
  3. Rivière du Rempart
  4. Flacq
  5. Savanne
  6. Plaines Wilhems
  7. Moka
  8. Grand Port
  9. Black River

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Island nation in the Indian Ocean, about 2,000 kilometers off the southeast coast of Africa
Capital Port Louis
Official Languages English, French, and Mauritian Creole
Population Approximately 1.3 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 2,040 square kilometers (788 square miles)
Geography Volcanic island with lush landscapes, white sandy beaches, and coral reefs
Independence From the United Kingdom on March 12, 1968
Government Parliamentary republic
Currency Mauritian rupee (MUR)
Notable Places Le Morne Brabant, Black River Gorges National Park, Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Botanical Garden
Official Website https://govmu.org/EN/Pages/default.aspx


Is Mauritius known for its beautiful beaches and coral reefs?

Yes, Mauritius is renowned for its stunning beaches and coral reefs, making it a popular destination for tourists.

What is the official currency of Mauritius?

The official currency of Mauritius is the Mauritian rupee (MUR).

Are there any endangered species in Mauritius?

Yes, Mauritius is known for its conservation efforts, particularly for the protection of endangered species such as the Mauritius kestrel and the pink pigeon.

Mauritius map and flag
Mauritius map and flag


See More: