Regions in Madagascar

Madagascar is divided into 22 regions. Here is a list of all the regions in Madagascar:

Regions in Madagascar

  1. Alaotra-Mangoro
  2. Amoron’i Mania
  3. Analamanga
  4. Analanjirofo
  5. Androy
  6. Anosy
  7. Atsimo-Andrefana
  8. Atsimo-Atsinanana
  9. Atsinanana
  10. Betsiboka
  11. Boeny
  12. Bongolava
  13. Diana
  14. Haute Matsiatra
  15. Ihorombe
  16. Itasy
  17. Melaky
  18. Menabe
  19. Sava
  20. Sofia
  21. Vakinankaratra
  22. Vatovavy-Fitovinany

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Island nation in the Indian Ocean, off the southeastern coast of Africa
Capital Antananarivo
Official Languages Malagasy and French
Population Approximately 27.7 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 587,041 square kilometers (226,658 square miles)
Geography Known for its unique biodiversity, including rainforests, semi-arid areas, and highlands
Independence From France on June 26, 1960
Government Unitary semi-presidential republic
Currency Malagasy ariary (MGA)
Notable Places Avenue of the Baobabs, Isalo National Park, Tsingy de Bemaraha
Official Website Not available


Is Madagascar the fourth largest island in the world?

  • Yes, Madagascar is often referred to as the fourth largest island in the world.

What is the official currency of Madagascar?

  • The official currency of Madagascar is the Malagasy ariary (MGA).

Are there unique wildlife species in Madagascar?

  • Yes, Madagascar is known for its unique biodiversity and is home to various species not found anywhere else on Earth, including lemurs.


Madagascar map and flag
Madagascar map and flag


See More: