Districts in Malawi


Malawi is divided into 28 districts. Here is a list of all the districts in Malawi:

Districts in Malawi

  1. Balaka
  2. Blantyre
  3. Chikwawa
  4. Chiradzulu
  5. Chitipa
  6. Dedza
  7. Dowa
  8. Karonga
  9. Kasungu
  10. Likoma
  11. Lilongwe
  12. Machinga
  13. Mangochi
  14. Mchinji
  15. Mulanje
  16. Mwanza
  17. Mzimba
  18. Neno
  19. Nkhata Bay
  20. Nkhotakota
  21. Nsanje
  22. Ntcheu
  23. Nkhata Bay
  24. Nkhotakota
  25. Nsanje
  26. Ntcheu
  27. Ntchisi
  28. Phalombe
  29. Rumphi
  30. Salima
  31. Thyolo
  32. Zomba

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Southeastern Africa, bordered by Tanzania to the north and northeast, Mozambique to the east, south, and southwest, and Zambia to the west
Capital Lilongwe
Official Language English and Chichewa
Population Approximately 20.2 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 118,484 square kilometers (45,747 square miles)
Geography Landlocked with Lake Malawi (also known as Lake Nyasa) to the east, high plateaus, and hills
Independence From the United Kingdom on July 6, 1964
Government Multi-party democracy with a presidential system
Currency Malawian kwacha (MWK)
Notable Places Lake Malawi, Liwonde National Park, Mulanje Mountain
Official Website Not available


Q: What is the primary export of Malawi? A: Tobacco is one of the primary exports of Malawi. It is also known for tea, sugar, and coffee production.

Q: Is Lake Malawi the third-largest lake in Africa by volume? A: Yes, Lake Malawi is often considered the third-largest lake in Africa by volume, and it is known for its biodiversity.

Q: What is the traditional dish of Malawi? A: One traditional dish of Malawi is nsima, a maize porridge that is a staple in Malawian cuisine.

Malawi map and flag
Malawi map and flag

Read More:

Previous article
Next article
Ed Efet
Ed Efethttps://editorialtimes.com/
Efukikata Efet is an experienced writer who excels in both technical and creative writing. He holds the position of Chief Editor at Triple Cross Communication Ltd. Since 2016, he has served as a content creator and chief editor at EditorialTimes. Efukikata Efet, a dynamic individual, consistently demonstrates professionalism in all his endeavors.



More like this

Cities, Towns and Villages in Phillips County, Arkansas

List of Cities, Towns, and Villages in Phillips County,...

Towns and Places in East Carroll Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in East Carroll Parish, Louisiana Cities There...

Towns and Places in East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana Cities There...

Cities, Towns, Places in Evangeline Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in Evangeline Parish, Louisiana Cities There is...