Governorates in Egypt

Egypt is divided into 27 governorates. Here is a list of all the governorates in Egypt:

List of Governorates

  1. Alexandria
  2. Aswan
  3. Asyut
  4. Beheira
  5. Beni Suef
  6. Cairo
  7. Dakahlia
  8. Damietta
  9. Faiyum
  10. Gharbia
  11. Giza
  12. Ismailia
  13. Kafr El Sheikh
  14. Luxor
  15. Matrouh
  16. Minya
  17. Monufia
  18. New Valley
  19. North Sinai
  20. Port Said
  21. Qalyubia
  22. Qena
  23. Red Sea
  24. Sharqia
  25. Sohag
  26. South Sinai
  27. Suez
Egypt symbol
Egypt symbol


Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Northeast Africa and the Middle East
Capital Cairo
Official Language Arabic
Population Approximately 104 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 1,010,408 square kilometers (390,121 square miles)
Geography Diverse landscape with the Nile River, deserts, and the Mediterranean coast
Independence From the United Kingdom on February 28, 1922
Government Semi-presidential republic
Currency Egyptian pound (EGP)
Notable Places Pyramids of Giza, Luxor, Valley of the Kings, Suez Canal
Official Website


How many governorates does Egypt have?

  • Egypt has 27 governorates, also known as provinces

How many governments are in Egypt?

  • Egypt has a centralized system of government, and it has 27 governorates or provinces. The central government appoints its own governor for each governorate. These governorates serve as administrative divisions within the country.

What is the largest governorate in Egypt?

  • The largest governorate in Egypt is the Al-Jīzah Governorate. It is located on the west bank of the Nile River and is part of Upper Egypt. Al-Jīzah is known for being home to the Great Pyramids of Giza, one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. It is the largest industrial center in the country. Egypt has plenty mineral resources.

How is Egypt divided?

  • Egypt has 27 governorates under the control of appointed governors, forming a three-tiered hierarchy for public administration. Ancient Egypt was divided into Upper Egypt and Lower Egypt based on the geographic division of the Nile.

Related: Countries in the World