Regions in Ethiopia

Regions and Chartered Cities in Ethiopia

Ethiopia is divided into 10 administrative regions and 2 chartered cities. Here is a list of all the regions and chartered cities.

List of Regions in Ethiopia

  1. Afar
  2. Amhara
  3. Benishangul-Gumuz
  4. Gambela
  5. Harari
  6. Oromia
  7. Sidama
  8. Somali
  9. Southern Nations, Nationalities, and Peoples’ Region (SNNPR)
  10. Tigray

Chartered Cities in Ethiopia

  1. Addis Ababa (Chartered City)
  2. Dire Dawa (Chartered City)

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Eastern Africa, bordered by Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, Kenya, South Sudan, Sudan, and South Sudan
Capital Addis Ababa
Official Language Amharic
Population Approximately 120 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 1,104,300 square kilometers (426,400 square miles)
Geography Diverse with highlands, plateaus, and the Great Rift Valley
Independence From Italy (invasion) on May 5, 1941; from the United Kingdom on September 12, 1941
Government Federal parliamentary republic
Currency Ethiopian birr (ETB)
Notable Places Lalibela’s Rock-Hewn Churches, Simien Mountains, Lake Tana
Official Website


Ethiopia map and flag
Ethiopian map and flag


What are the 9 regions of Ethiopia?

The country has nine administrative regions. These regions are:

  1. Tigray Region
  2. Afar Region
  3. Amhara Region
  4. Oromia Region
  5. Somali Region
  6. Benishangul-Gumuz Region
  7. SNNPR (Southern Nations, Nationalities, and Peoples’ Region)
  8. Gambela Region
  9. Harari Region

How many cities are in Ethiopia?

Ethiopia has a total of 40 cities. The largest city in Ethiopia is Addis Ababa, with a population of around 2.7 million people as of 2023.

See more: