Regions in Cameroon

Here is a list of all the regions (provinces) of Cameroon:

10 Regions in Cameroon

  1. Adamawa
  2. Centre
  3. East
  4. Far North
  5. Littoral
  6. North
  7. North West
  8. South
  9. South Region
  10. West
Cameroon map and flag
Cameroon map and flag


Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Central Africa
Capital Yaoundé
Official Languages French and English
Population Approximately 26 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 475,442 square kilometers (183,569 square miles)
Geography Diverse landscape with coastal areas, rainforests, savannas, and mountains
Independence From France on January 1, 1960 (independence from the United Kingdom on October 1, 1961)
Government Unitary dominant-party presidential republic
Currency Central African CFA franc (XAF)
Notable Places Mount Cameroon, Waza National Park, Dja Faunal Reserve (UNESCO World Heritage Site)
Notable People Samuel Eto’o (footballer), Manu Dibango (musician), Achille Mbembe (philosopher), Aissatou Sow Sidibe (politician)
Official Website


What are the 10 regions of Cameroon?

  • The country is divided into 10 regions. Above, you will find a list of the 10 regions of Cameroon:

How many regions do we have in Cameroon?

  • There are 10 regions in Cameroon

What are the divisions and regions of Cameroon?

The nation has 10 regions and further subdivided into divisions. Here is a list of the regions and their respective divisions:

  • Adamawa Region:

Vina, Mayo-Banyo, Mbéré, Djérem

  • Centre Region:

Méfou-et-Afamba, Mbam-et-Inoubou, Haute-Sanaga, Lekié, Mbam-et-Kim, Nyong-et-So’o, Nyong-et-Kellé

  • East Region:

Haut-Nyong, Boumba-et-Ngoko, Kadey, Lom-et-Djérem, Dja-et-Lobo

  • Far North Region:

Mayo-Tsanaga, Mayo-Sava, Mayo-Kani, Mayo-Danay, Logone-et-Chari, Diamaré

  • Littoral Region:

Moungo, Nkam, Sanaga-Maritime, Wouri

  • North Region:

Bénoué, Faro-et-Déo, Mayo-Louti, Mayo-Rey, Mayo-Oulo

  • Northwest Region:

Boyo, Bui, Donga-Mantung, Menchum, Mezam, Momo, Ngo-Ketunjia

  • South Region:

Dja-et-Lobo, Mvila, Océan, Vallée-du-Ntem, Kribi, Boumba-et-Ngoko

  • Southwest Region:

Fako, Kupe-Manenguba, Lebialem, Manyu, Meme, Ndian

  • West Region:

Bamboutos, Hauts-Plateaux, Koung-Khi, Menoua, Mifi, Ndé

What is Cameroon divided into?

The country is divided into 10 regions. These regions are administrative divisions that help govern and manage the country. Each region has a capital city and is further divided into divisions, which are smaller administrative units within the regions. The divisions serve as intermediate levels of administration between the regions and the local communities.

Related: All Countries in the World