States and Regions in Myanmar (Burma)

Myanmar, also known as Burma, is a Southeast Asian country with a rich cultural heritage. Here is a list of all the states and regions in Myanmar:

States in Myanmar (Burma)

  1. Chin
  2. Kachin
  3. Kayah
  4. Kayin
  5. Mon
  6. Rakhine
  7. Shan

Regions in Myanmar (Burma)

  1. Ayeyarwady
  2. Bago
  3. Magway
  4. Mandalay
  5. Sagaing
  6. Tanintharyi
  7. Yangon

Myanmar (Burma)Quick Facts

  • Location: Myanmar is located in Southeast Asia, bordered by Bangladesh, India, China, Laos, and Thailand.
  • Capital: Naypyidaw
  • Official Language: Burmese
  • Population: Approximately 54 million (2022)
  • Area: Myanmar covers an area of about 676,578 square kilometers (261,228 square miles).
  • Geography: The country features diverse landscapes, including mountains, plains, and the Irrawaddy River.
  • Government: Myanmar is a unitary parliamentary republic.
  • Currency: Burmese kyat (MMK)
  • Notable Places: Myanmar is known for the ancient temples of Bagan, the Shwedagon Pagoda in Yangon, and the scenic Inle Lake.
  • Official Website:

FAQs about Myanmar (Burma)

What is the significance of Bagan’s temples?

Bagan is home to thousands of ancient temples and pagodas, representing the rich cultural and religious history of Myanmar. It is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Are there any restrictions for tourists in Myanmar?

Travelers should be aware of local customs and regulations. Some areas may have restricted access, and it’s advisable to check travel advisories before planning a trip.

What is the cuisine of Myanmar like?

Burmese cuisine is diverse, featuring dishes with rice, noodles, and a variety of flavorful curries. Mohinga, a noodle soup, is a popular traditional dish.

How is transportation in Myanmar?

Transportation includes buses, trains, and domestic flights. In some areas, traditional boats may be used for river travel.

Myanmar (Burma) map and flag
Myanmar (Burma) map and flag


Read More: