Regions and Cities in Kyrgyzstan

Kyrgyzstan has 7 regions and 2 independent cities. Here is a list of all the regions and cities in Kyrgyzstan:

Regions in Kyrgyzstan

  1. Batken Region
  2. Chuy Region
  3. Issyk-Kul Region
  4. Jalal-Abad Region
  5. Naryn Region
  6. Osh Region
  7. Talas Region

Independent Cities

  1. Bishkek (City)
  2. Osh (City)

Quick Facts

  • Location: Kyrgyzstan is a landlocked country in Central Asia, bordered by Kazakhstan to the north, Uzbekistan to the west, Tajikistan to the southwest, and China to the southeast.
  • Capital: Bishkek
  • Official Languages: Kyrgyz and Russian
  • Population: Approximately 6.6 million (2022)
  • Area: Kyrgyzstan covers an area of about 199,951 square kilometers (77,202 square miles).
  • Geography: Kyrgyzstan has mountains, including the Tian Shan range, and numerous alpine lakes.
  • Government: Kyrgyzstan is a unitary parliamentary republic.
  • Currency: Kyrgyzstani Som (KGS)
  • Notable Places: Kyrgyzstan is known for Lake Issyk-Kul, Ala Archa National Park, and the historic city of Osh.
  • Official Website:

What is the significance of Lake Issyk-Kul?

Lake Issyk-Kul is the second-largest alpine lake in the world. It has clear waters, picturesque landscapes, and is a popular tourist destination.

Are there nomadic traditions in Kyrgyzstan?

Yes, Kyrgyzstan has a nomadic heritage, and traditional nomadic practices, such as yurt dwelling and horseback riding, are still observed in certain regions.

Is Kyrgyzstan a safe country for tourists?

Kyrgyzstan is generally considered safe for tourists, with a welcoming local population. However, travelers are advised to exercise normal precautions and be aware of local customs.

What is the climate like in Kyrgyzstan?

Kyrgyzstan experiences a continental climate with hot summers and cold winters. The mountainous terrain contributes to variations in climate across different regions.

Kyrgyzstan map
Kyrgyzstan map


See More: