Regions in Georgia

Georgia is divided into 10 regions. Here is a list of all the regions in Georgia:

Regions in Georgia

  1. Adjara
  2. Guria
  3. Imereti
  4. Kakheti
  5. Kvemo Kartli
  6. Mtskheta-Mtianeti
  7. Racha-Lechkhumi and Kvemo Svaneti
  8. Samegrelo-Zemo Svaneti
  9. Samtskhe-Javakheti
  10. Shida Kartli

Quick Facts about Georgia

  • Location: Georgia is located at the intersection of Eastern Europe and Western Asia, in the South Caucasus region.
  • Capital: Tbilisi
  • Official Language: Georgian
  • Population: Approximately 3.7 million
  • Area: Georgia covers an area of about 69,700 square kilometers (26,911 square miles).
  • Geography: The country features diverse landscapes, including mountains, Black Sea coast, and fertile valleys.
  • Government: Georgia is a semi-presidential republic.
  • Currency: Georgian Lari (GEL)
  • Notable Places: Georgia is known for its historic sites, including the ancient city of Mtskheta, the wine region of Kakheti, and the scenic Svetitskhoveli Cathedral.
  • Official Website: Official Government Portal of Georgia

Is Georgia a part of the European Union (EU)?

Georgia is not a member of the EU, but it has an association agreement with the EU, signifying close ties and cooperation.

What is the significance of Georgian wine, and where can it be sampled?

Georgia is one of the world’s oldest wine-producing regions. You can sample Georgian wines in various wineries and wine cellars across the country, with Kakheti being a renowned wine-producing region.

Are there any UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Georgia?

Yes, Georgia has several UNESCO World Heritage Sites, including the historical monuments of Mtskheta and Upper Svaneti.

What is the traditional cuisine of Georgia known for, and what are some popular dishes?

Georgian cuisine is famous for its diverse flavors and use of herbs and spices. Popular dishes include khachapuri (cheese-filled bread) and khinkali (dumplings).

Georgia map
Georgia map


See More: