States in Benin


Here is a list of all the states in Benin:

States in Benin

  1. Alibori
  2. Atacora
  3. Atlantique
  4. Borgou
  5. Collines
  6. Couffo
  7. Donga
  8. Littoral
  9. Mono
  10. Ouémé
  11. Plateau
  12. Zou
Benin map and flag
Benin map and flag


Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location West Africa
Capital Porto-Novo (official capital), Cotonou (economic capital)
Official Language French
Population Approximately 12 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 114,763 square kilometers (44,310 square miles)
Geography Diverse landscape with coastal areas, plateaus, and savannas
Independence From France on August 1, 1960
Government Republic with a multi-party system
Currency West African CFA franc (XOF)
Notable Places Porto-Novo (UNESCO World Heritage Site), Pendjari National Park, Ganvié stilt village
Official Website


How many cities are in Benin?

Benin has several cities, but the number can vary depending on the definition of a city. Some of the major cities in Benin include Cotonou, Porto-Novo, Parakou, Abomey, Djougou, and Bohicon.

Is Benin a state or capital?

Benin is a country in West Africa. The official capital of Benin is Porto-Novo, but the largest city and de facto capital is Cotonou. Benin City is the capital of Edo State, Nigeria.

Which state does Benin belong to?

Benin is a country in West Africa and does not belong to any state. It is an independent nation with its own political and administrative divisions called departments, not states.

What are the areas in Benin?

Benin is divided into twelve administrative departments, which are further divided into municipalities and arrondissements. The twelve departments in Benin are listed above.

Related: Countries in the World

Previous article
Next article
Ed Efet
Ed Efet
Efukikata Efet is an experienced writer who excels in both technical and creative writing. He holds the position of Chief Editor at Triple Cross Communication Ltd. Since 2016, he has served as a content creator and chief editor at EditorialTimes. Efukikata Efet, a dynamic individual, consistently demonstrates professionalism in all his endeavors.



More like this

Cities, Towns and Villages in Phillips County, Arkansas

List of Cities, Towns, and Villages in Phillips County,...

Towns and Places in East Carroll Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in East Carroll Parish, Louisiana Cities There...

Towns and Places in East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana Cities There...

Cities, Towns, Places in Evangeline Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in Evangeline Parish, Louisiana Cities There is...