States in India

India is divided into 28 states and 8 Union Territories. Here is a list of all the states in India:

States in India

  1. Andhra Pradesh
  2. Arunachal Pradesh
  3. Assam
  4. Bihar
  5. Chhattisgarh
  6. Goa
  7. Gujarat
  8. Haryana
  9. Himachal Pradesh
  10. Jharkhand
  11. Karnataka
  12. Kerala
  13. Madhya Pradesh
  14. Maharashtra
  15. Manipur
  16. Meghalaya
  17. Mizoram
  18. Nagaland
  19. Odisha
  20. Punjab
  21. Rajasthan
  22. Sikkim
  23. Tamil Nadu
  24. Telangana
  25. Tripura
  26. Uttar Pradesh
  27. Uttarakhand
  28. West Bengal

Union Territories

  1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  2. Chandigarh
  3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu
  4. Lakshadweep
  5. Delhi
  6. Puducherry
  7. Jammu and Kashmir
  8. Ladakh

Quick Facts

  • Location: India is located in South Asia and is the seventh-largest country by land area and the second-most populous country in the world.
  • Capital: New Delhi
  • Official Languages: Hindi and English
  • Population: Approximately 1.3 billion (2022)
  • Area: India covers an area of about 3.29 million square kilometers (1.27 million square miles).
  • Geography: India has diverse landscapes, including the Himalayan mountain range, fertile plains along the Ganges, deserts in the west, and a long coastline.
  • Government: India is a federal parliamentary democratic republic.
  • Currency: Indian Rupee (INR)
  • Notable Places: India is known for iconic landmarks such as the Taj Mahal, Jaipur’s palaces, the holy city of Varanasi, and the backwaters of Kerala.
  • Official Website: Official Government Portal of India:


How many languages are spoken in India?

India is known for its linguistic diversity, with over 1,600 languages spoken. Hindi and English are the two official languages.

What is the significance of the Ganges River in India?

The Ganges is a sacred river in Hinduism, and its waters are considered purifying. It holds cultural and religious importance, and many rituals and ceremonies take place along its banks.

What is the major festival celebrated in India?

Diwali, the Festival of Lights, is one of the major festivals celebrated across India. It symbolizes the victory of light over darkness.

How many UNESCO World Heritage Sites are there in India?

India has numerous UNESCO World Heritage Sites, including the Taj Mahal, Jaipur’s Jantar Mantar, and the Elephanta Caves.

India map
India map


Read More: