States in Sudan

Sudan is divided into 18 states. Here is a list of all the states in Sudan:

States in Sudan

  1. Al Jazirah
  2. Al Qadarif
  3. Al Wahdah
  4. Blue Nile
  5. Central Darfur
  6. East Darfur
  7. Kassala
  8. Khartoum
  9. North Darfur
  10. North Kordofan
  11. Northern
  12. Red Sea
  13. River Nile
  14. Sennar
  15. South Darfur
  16. South Kordofan
  17. West Darfur
  18. West Kordofan

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Located in North-East Africa, bordered by Egypt to the north, the Red Sea to the northeast, Eritrea and Ethiopia to the east, South Sudan to the south, the Central African Republic to the southwest, Chad to the west, and Libya to the northwest.
Capital Khartoum
Official Languages Arabic and English
Population Approximately 44 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 1,886,068 square kilometers (728,215 square miles)
Geography Varied landscapes including deserts, mountains, and the Nile River.
Independence From joint British-Egyptian rule on January 1, 1956
Government Federal republic
Currency Sudanese pound (SDG)
Notable Places Pyramids of Meroe, Port Sudan, Nubian Desert
Official Website [Official Government Portal of Sudan](


What is the historical significance of Sudan’s Pyramids of Meroe?

The Pyramids of Meroe are a UNESCO World Heritage site and were part of the ancient Kingdom of Kush.

Is Sudan known for its archaeological sites and historical heritage?

Yes, Sudan is rich in historical and archaeological sites, including ancient Nubian civilizations.

How diverse is Sudan in terms of ethnic groups and languages?

Sudan is ethnically and linguistically diverse, with many ethnic groups and languages spoken across the country.

See More: