States in Nigeria

Nigeria is divided into 36 states and one federal capital territory. Here is a list of all the states and the federal capital territory in Nigeria:

States and the federal capital territory in Nigeria

  1. Abia
  2. Adamawa
  3. Akwa Ibom
  4. Anambra
  5. Bauchi
  6. Bayelsa
  7. Benue
  8. Borno
  9. Cross River
  10. Delta
  11. Ebonyi
  12. Edo
  13. Ekiti
  14. Enugu
  15. Gombe
  16. Imo
  17. Jigawa
  18. Kaduna
  19. Kano
  20. Katsina
  21. Kebbi
  22. Kogi
  23. Kwara
  24. Lagos
  25. Nasarawa
  26. Niger
  27. Ogun
  28. Ondo
  29. Osun
  30. Oyo
  31. Plateau
  32. Rivers
  33. Sokoto
  34. Taraba
  35. Yobe
  36. Zamfara
  37. Federal Capital Territory (Abuja)

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location West Africa, bordered by Benin to the west, Chad and Cameroon to the east, and Niger to the north
Capital Abuja
Official Language English
Population Approximately 206 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 923,768 square kilometers (356,669 square miles)
Geography Diverse landscapes, including savannas, forests, and a lengthy coastline along the Gulf of Guinea
Independence From the United Kingdom on October 1, 1960
Government Federal republic with a presidential system
Currency Nigerian naira (NGN)
Notable Places Lagos, Abuja, Zuma Rock, Olumo Rock, Yankari National Park
Official Website [Official Government Portal of Nigeria](


Is Nigeria the most populous country in Africa?

Yes, Nigeria is the most populous country in Africa and one of the most populous in the world.

What are some major cultural festivals in Nigeria?

Nigeria is known for its diverse cultural festivals, including the Durbar festival, Osun-Osogbo festival, and the Eyo festival.

What is the significance of Zuma Rock in Nigeria?

Zuma Rock is a notable geological formation in Nigeria, and it is often referred to as the “Gateway to Abuja” due to its location along the road to the capital city.

Read More: