States in South Sudan


South Sudan is divided into 10 states. Here is a list of all the states in South Sudan:

States in South Sudan

  1. Central Equatoria
  2. Eastern Equatoria
  3. Jonglei
  4. Lakes
  5. Northern Bahr el Ghazal
  6. Unity
  7. Upper Nile
  8. Warrap
  9. Western Bahr el Ghazal
  10. Western Equatoria

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Located in East-Central Africa, bordered by Sudan to the north, Ethiopia to the east, Kenya to the southeast, Uganda to the south, the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the southwest, and the Central African Republic to the west.
Capital Juba
Official Language English
Population Approximately 12 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 619,745 square kilometers (239,285 square miles)
Geography Diverse landscapes including savannas, swamps, and the White Nile River.
Independence From Sudan on July 9, 2011
Government Republic with a presidential system
Currency South Sudanese pound (SSP)
Notable Places Nimule National Park, Bor, Malakal, Boma National Park
Official Website [Official Government Portal of South Sudan](


South Sudan map and flag
South Sudan map and flag


What is the current situation in South Sudan in terms of stability?

South Sudan has faced political and humanitarian challenges, including conflict, since gaining independence. Efforts are ongoing to establish stability.

Are there any national parks or wildlife reserves in South Sudan?

Yes, South Sudan has national parks like Nimule National Park and Boma National Park, known for their diverse wildlife.

What are the major industries in South Sudan’s economy?

South Sudan’s economy is primarily dependent on oil production, but agriculture and livestock farming are also significant.

See More:

Previous article
Next article
Ed Efet
Ed Efet
Efukikata Efet is an experienced writer who excels in both technical and creative writing. He holds the position of Chief Editor at Triple Cross Communication Ltd. Since 2016, he has served as a content creator and chief editor at EditorialTimes. Efukikata Efet, a dynamic individual, consistently demonstrates professionalism in all his endeavors.



More like this

Cities, Towns and Villages in Phillips County, Arkansas

List of Cities, Towns, and Villages in Phillips County,...

Towns and Places in East Carroll Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in East Carroll Parish, Louisiana Cities There...

Towns and Places in East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana Cities There...

Cities, Towns, Places in Evangeline Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in Evangeline Parish, Louisiana Cities There is...