Governorates in Jordan

Jordan has 12 governorates. Here is a list of all the governorates in Jordan:

Governorates in Jordan

  1. Ajloun
  2. Amman
  3. Aqaba
  4. Balqa
  5. Irbid
  6. Jerash
  7. Karak
  8. Ma’an
  9. Madaba
  10. Mafraq
  11. Tafilah
  12. Zarqa

Quick Facts

  • Location: Jordan is located in the Middle East, bordered by Syria to the north, Iraq to the northeast, Saudi Arabia to the south and east, and Israel and the West Bank to the west.
  • Capital: Amman
  • Official Language: Arabic
  • Population: Approximately 10.6 million (2022)
  • Area: Jordan covers an area of about 89,342 square kilometers (34,495 square miles).
  • Geography: Jordan features diverse landscapes, including the Jordan Rift Valley, the Dead Sea, and the ancient city of Petra.
  • Government: Jordan is a constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary government.
  • Currency: Jordanian Dinar (JOD)
  • Notable Places: Jordan is known for archaeological sites like Petra and Jerash, as well as the Dead Sea.
  • Official Website:

What is the significance of Petra in Jordan?

A: Petra is an ancient city renowned for its rock-cut architecture and water conduit system. It is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and one of the New Seven Wonders of the World.

Can tourists float in the Dead Sea in Jordan?

A: Yes, the high salt concentration in the Dead Sea allows people to float effortlessly on its surface. The minerals in the mud are also believed to have therapeutic properties.

Is Jordan part of the Arabian Peninsula?

Jordan is not on the Arabian Peninsula; however, it is often associated with the broader Middle East region.

What is the climate like in Jordan?

Jordan has a diverse climate, with hot summers and cool winters. The Jordan Valley and the Dead Sea area experience warmer temperatures, while the highlands, including Amman, are cooler.

Jordan map
Jordan map


See More: