Districts in Lesotho


Lesotho is divided into 10 districts. Here is a list of all the districts in Lesotho:

List of districts in Lesotho

  1. Berea
  2. Butha-Buthe
  3. Leribe
  4. Mafeteng
  5. Maseru
  6. Mohale’s Hoek
  7. Mokhotlong
  8. Qacha’s Nek
  9. Quthing
  10. Thaba-Tseka

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Southern Africa, entirely surrounded by South Africa
Capital Maseru
Official Languages Sesotho and English
Population Approximately 2.2 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 30,355 square kilometers (11,720 square miles)
Geography Mountainous, with the Drakensberg Range covering much of the country
Independence From the United Kingdom on October 4, 1966
Government Parliamentary constitutional monarchy
Currency Lesotho loti (LSL) and South African rand (ZAR)
Notable Places Thaba-Bosiu, Sehlabathebe National Park, Maletsunyane Falls
Official Website Not available


What are the four regions of Lesotho?

  1. Lowlands
  2. Foothills
  3. Highlands
  4. Senqu River Valley

What are the zones of Lesotho?

  1. Lowlands Zone
  2. Foothills Zone
  3. Highlands Zone
  4. Mountain Zone
  5. Lowland Agricultural Zone
  6. Lower Foothills Zone

Are there provinces in Lesotho?

Lesotho is not divided into provinces; instead, it is organized into administrative districts. It has ten districts, each with its own local government and administrative structure.

Lesotho map and flag
Lesotho map and flag

See More:

Previous article
Next article
Ed Efet
Ed Efethttps://editorialtimes.com/
Efukikata Efet is an experienced writer who excels in both technical and creative writing. He holds the position of Chief Editor at Triple Cross Communication Ltd. Since 2016, he has served as a content creator and chief editor at EditorialTimes. Efukikata Efet, a dynamic individual, consistently demonstrates professionalism in all his endeavors.



More like this

Cities, Towns and Villages in Phillips County, Arkansas

List of Cities, Towns, and Villages in Phillips County,...

Towns and Places in East Carroll Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in East Carroll Parish, Louisiana Cities There...

Towns and Places in East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana Cities There...

Cities, Towns, Places in Evangeline Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in Evangeline Parish, Louisiana Cities There is...