Governorates in Iraq

Iraq is divided into 19 governorates. Here is a list of all the governorates in Iraq:

Governorates in Iraq

  1. Al-Anbar
  2. Babil
  3. Baghdad
  4. Basra
  5. Dhi Qar
  6. Diyala
  7. Duhok
  8. Erbil
  9. Halabja
  10. Karbala
  11. Kirkuk
  12. Maysan
  13. Muthanna
  14. Najaf
  15. Nineveh
  16. Saladin
  17. Sulaymaniyah
  18. Wasit
  19. Kurdistan Region (autonomous region with Erbil, Sulaymaniyah, and Halabja as its administrative divisions)

Quick Facts

  • Location: Iraq is situated in Western Asia, bordered by Turkey, Iran, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, and Syria.
  • Capital: Baghdad
  • Official Languages: Arabic, Kurdish
  • Population: Approximately 41 million (2022)
  • Area: Iraq covers an area of about 438,317 square kilometers (169,235 square miles).
  • Geography: Iraq has a diverse geography, including the Tigris and Euphrates rivers, deserts, and mountainous regions in the north.
  • Government: Iraq is a federal parliamentary republic.
  • Currency: Iraqi Dinar (IQD)
  • Notable Places: Iraq is known for historical sites such as the ancient city of Babylon, the Ziggurat of Ur, and the city of Erbil.
  • Official Website:

What is the significance of the Tigris and Euphrates rivers in Iraq?

The Tigris and Euphrates rivers are historically significant, often referred to as the “cradle of civilization.” They played a vital role in the development of ancient Mesopotamian cultures.

Is Iraq a predominantly Muslim country?

Yes, the majority of the population in Iraq is Muslim, with both Sunni and Shia Islam communities.

What is the historical significance of Babylon in Iraq?

Babylon was a major city of ancient Mesopotamia and is known for its historical and cultural importance, including the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World.

Are there UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Iraq?

Yes, Iraq has several UNESCO World Heritage Sites, including the archaeological city of Samarra and the Erbil Citadel.

Iraq map
Iraq map


See More: