Governorates in Bahrain

Bahrain is divided into 4 governorates. Here is a list of all the governorates in Bahrain:

  1. Capital Governorate
  2. Northern Governorate
  3. Southern Governorate
  4. Muharraq Governorate

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location An island country in the Persian Gulf, situated near the eastern coast of Saudi Arabia.
Capital Manama
Official Language Arabic
Population Approximately 1.7 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 765 square kilometers (295 square miles)
Geography Archipelago with a desert climate and a blend of modern urban areas and historical sites.
Government Constitutional Monarchy
Currency Bahraini Dinar (BHD)
Notable Places Bahrain Fort, Qal’at al-Bahrain, Al Fateh Grand Mosque, Bab Al Bahrain
Official Website [Official Government Portal of Bahrain](


Bahrain map and seal
Bahrain map and seal


What is the historical significance of Bahrain Fort?

Bahrain Fort, also known as Qal’at al-Bahrain, is an archaeological site that bears witness to the rich history of Bahrain. It is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and an important historical landmark.

Can tourists visit the Al Fateh Grand Mosque in Bahrain?

Yes, the Al Fateh Grand Mosque is open to visitors. It is one of the largest mosques in the world and a significant religious and architectural site.

What is the importance of Bab Al Bahrain?

Bab Al Bahrain, also known as the Gateway of Bahrain, is a historical building located in Manama. It serves as a symbol of the country’s heritage and is a popular tourist destination.

See More: