Prefectures in Japan


Japan is divided into 47 prefectures. Here is a list of all the prefectures in Japan:

Prefectures in Japan

  1. Aichi
  2. Akita
  3. Aomori
  4. Chiba
  5. Ehime
  6. Fukui
  7. Fukuoka
  8. Fukushima
  9. Gifu
  10. Gunma
  11. Hiroshima
  12. Hokkaido
  13. Hyogo
  14. Ibaraki
  15. Ishikawa
  16. Iwate
  17. Kagawa
  18. Kagoshima
  19. Kanagawa
  20. Kochi
  21. Kumamoto
  22. Kyoto
  23. Mie
  24. Miyagi
  25. Miyazaki
  26. Nagano
  27. Nagasaki
  28. Nara
  29. Niigata
  30. Oita
  31. Okayama
  32. Okinawa
  33. Osaka
  34. Saga
  35. Saitama
  36. Shiga
  37. Shimane
  38. Shizuoka
  39. Tochigi
  40. Tokushima
  41. Tokyo
  42. Tottori
  43. Toyama
  44. Wakayama
  45. Yamagata
  46. Yamaguchi
  47. Yamanashi

Quick Facts

  • Location: Japan is an island country in East Asia, located in the Pacific Ocean.
  • Capital: Tokyo
  • Official Language: Japanese
  • Population: Approximately 126 million (2022)
  • Area: Japan covers an area of about 377,975 square kilometers (145,937 square miles).
  • Geography: Japan consists of four main islands (Honshu, Hokkaido, Kyushu, and Shikoku) and numerous smaller islands.
  • Government: Japan is a constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary government.
  • Currency: Japanese Yen (JPY)
  • Notable Places: Japan is known for landmarks like Mount Fuji, Kyoto’s historic temples, and the bustling city of Tokyo.
  • Official Website:

What is the significance of Mount Fuji in Japan?

Mount Fuji is Japan’s highest peak and is considered a sacred symbol. It is also a popular cultural and artistic motif.

Is Japanese the only language spoken in Japan?

Japanese is the official language, but some regions have local dialects. English is also taught in schools, and many Japanese people can communicate in basic English.

What is the traditional Japanese cuisine?

Traditional Japanese cuisine, known as washoku, includes dishes like sushi, sashimi, ramen, and tempura.

Are there UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Japan?

Yes, Japan has numerous UNESCO World Heritage Sites, including Kyoto’s Historic Monuments, the Historic Villages of Shirakawa-go and Gokayama, and the Shiretoko Peninsula.

Japan map
Japan map


See More:

Ed Efet
Ed Efet
Efukikata Efet is an experienced writer who excels in both technical and creative writing. He holds the position of Chief Editor at Triple Cross Communication Ltd. Since 2016, he has served as a content creator and chief editor at EditorialTimes. Efukikata Efet, a dynamic individual, consistently demonstrates professionalism in all his endeavors.



More like this

Cities, Towns and Villages in Phillips County, Arkansas

List of Cities, Towns, and Villages in Phillips County,...

Towns and Places in East Carroll Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in East Carroll Parish, Louisiana Cities There...

Towns and Places in East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana Cities There...

Cities, Towns, Places in Evangeline Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in Evangeline Parish, Louisiana Cities There is...