Provinces and Territories in Canada

Canada is not divided into states. Unlike the USA, Canada is divided into provinces and territories. Here is the complete list:


1. Alberta
2. British Columbia
3. Manitoba
4. New Brunswick
5. Newfoundland and Labrador
6. Nova Scotia
7. Ontario
8. Prince Edward Island
9. Quebec
10. Saskatchewan


1. Northwest Territories
2. Nunavut
3. Yukon

Quick Facts

Here’s a table of quick facts about Canada:

Category Quick Facts
Geography Second-largest country in the world by land area, known for its diverse landscapes
History Confederation on July 1, 1867, with the passage of the British North America Act
Economy Diverse economy with a focus on natural resources, manufacturing, and technology
Climate Varies from arctic and subarctic in the north to temperate in the south
Natural Attractions Banff National Park, Niagara Falls, Jasper National Park
Culture Multicultural with a strong focus on hockey, music, and winter sports
Miscellaneous National animal is the beaver, National symbol is the maple leaf
Population Approximately 38 million as of 2021 estimate
Notable People Justin Trudeau, Celine Dion, Elon Musk (naturalized citizen)
Official Website

How many territories are in Canada?

  • Canada consists of the 10 provinces and 3 territories listed above.

Are there 13 Canadian provinces and territories?

  • There are 13 provinces and territories in Canada. There are 10 provinces and 3 territories. The provinces are listed above in alphabetical order.

Why does Canada have territories?

Canada has territories due to historical, geographical, and political reasons. The territories, consisting of Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut, reflect the historical presence and sovereignty of Indigenous communities.

They are located in the northernmost regions of Canada, known for their unique landscapes and resources. The territories have a significant Indigenous population, and their governance structures often incorporate the recognition of Indigenous rights and land claims agreements.

While they have less autonomy compared to provinces, the territories receive support and governance through federal departments. They also offer economic growth opportunities, including industries like mining, tourism, and renewable energy. The relationship between the federal government and the territories is dynamic, with ongoing efforts to address their unique needs and aspirations.

See also: