Governorates in Tunisia

Tunisia is divided into 24 governorates (states). Here is a list of all the governorates in Tunisia:

Governorates in Tunisia

  1. Ariana
  2. Béja
  3. Ben Arous
  4. Bizerte
  5. Gabès
  6. Gafsa
  7. Jendouba
  8. Kairouan
  9. Kasserine
  10. Kébili
  11. Kef
  12. Mahdia
  13. Manouba
  14. Medenine
  15. Monastir
  16. Nabeul
  17. Sfax
  18. Sidi Bouzid
  19. Siliana
  20. Sousse
  21. Tataouine
  22. Tozeur
  23. Tunis
  24. Zaghouan

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Located in North Africa, bordered by Algeria to the west and southwest, Libya to the southeast, and the Mediterranean Sea to the north and east.
Capital Tunis
Official Language Arabic
Population Approximately 12 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 163,610 square kilometers (63,170 square miles)
Geography Diverse landscapes including coastline, deserts, and the Atlas Mountains.
Independence From French colonial rule on March 20, 1956
Government Republic with a parliamentary system
Currency Tunisian Dinar (TND)
Notable Places Carthage, Medina of Tunis, El Djem Amphitheatre, Sahara Desert
Official Website [Official Government Portal of Tunisia](


What is the historical significance of Carthage in Tunisia?

Carthage was an ancient city and a major power in the Mediterranean. It played a crucial role in the Punic Wars with Rome.

Can you visit the Sahara Desert in Tunisia?

Yes, parts of the Sahara Desert extend into Tunisia, and you can explore its unique landscapes.

What is the traditional architecture of the Medina of Tunis?

The Medina of Tunis features narrow winding streets, traditional houses, and historic mosques, reflecting Tunisian and Islamic architectural styles.

Tunisia map and flag
Tunisia map and flag

See More: