Regions and Prefectures in Togo


Togo is divided into 5 regions and subdivided into prefectures. Here is a list of all the regions and prefectures in Togo:

Regions and Prefectures in Togo

Maritime Region:

  1. Lomé Commune

Plateaux Region:

  1. Agou Prefecture
  2. Amou Prefecture
  3. Danyi Prefecture
  4. Est-Mono Prefecture
  5. Haho Prefecture
  6. Kloto Prefecture
  7. Moyen-Mono Prefecture
  8. Ogou Prefecture
  9. Wawa Prefecture

Centrale Region:

  1. Blitta Prefecture
  2. Sotouboua Prefecture
  3. Tchaoudjo Prefecture
  4. Tchaou Prefecture

Kara Region:

  1. Bassar Prefecture
  2. Bimah Prefecture
  3. Dankpen Prefecture
  4. Doufelgou Prefecture
  5. Kéran Prefecture
  6. Kozah Prefecture
  7. Oti Prefecture

Savanes Region:

  1. Cinkassé Prefecture
  2. Kpendjal Prefecture
  3. Oti Prefecture
  4. Tandjouaré Prefecture
  5. Tone Prefecture

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Located in West Africa, bordered by Burkina Faso to the north, Benin to the south, Ghana to the west, and the Atlantic Ocean to the south.
Capital Lomé
Official Language French
Population Approximately 8 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 56,785 square kilometers (21,925 square miles)
Geography Diverse landscapes including savannas, hills, and a coastline along the Gulf of Guinea.
Independence From French colonial rule on April 27, 1960
Government Republic with a presidential system
Currency West African CFA franc (XOF)
Notable Places Togoville, Koutammakou, Lomé Grand Market
Official Website [Official Government Portal of Togo](


Togo map and flag
Togo map and flag


What is the historical significance of Togoville in Togo?

Togoville is a historic town known for its role in the spread of Christianity and is home to the Togolese royal family.

Can you visit traditional Togolese villages in Koutammakou?

Yes, Koutammakou is a UNESCO World Heritage site known for its unique architecture, and you can visit traditional villages.

What are the major cultural attractions in Lomé, the capital of Togo?

Lomé offers attractions like the Lomé Grand Market, National Museum, and beautiful beaches along the Gulf of Guinea.

See More:

Previous article
Next article
Ed Efet
Ed Efet
Efukikata Efet is an experienced writer who excels in both technical and creative writing. He holds the position of Chief Editor at Triple Cross Communication Ltd. Since 2016, he has served as a content creator and chief editor at EditorialTimes. Efukikata Efet, a dynamic individual, consistently demonstrates professionalism in all his endeavors.



More like this

Cities, Towns and Villages in Phillips County, Arkansas

List of Cities, Towns, and Villages in Phillips County,...

Towns and Places in East Carroll Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in East Carroll Parish, Louisiana Cities There...

Towns and Places in East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana Cities There...

Cities, Towns, Places in Evangeline Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in Evangeline Parish, Louisiana Cities There is...