Districts in Israel

Israel is divided into 6 administrative districts. Here is a list of all the districts in Israel:

Districts in Israel

  1. Central District (Merkaz)
  2. Haifa District
  3. Jerusalem District
  4. Northern District (HaZafon)
  5. Southern District (HaDarom)
  6. Tel Aviv District

Quick Facts

  • Location: Israel is located in the Middle East, bordered by Lebanon to the north, Syria to the northeast, Jordan to the east, and Egypt to the southwest.
  • Capital: Jerusalem (Note: The international community recognizes Tel Aviv as the country’s capital)
  • Official Languages: Hebrew, Arabic
  • Population: Approximately 9.3 million (2022)
  • Area: Israel covers an area of about 22,072 square kilometers (8,522 square miles).
  • Geography: Israel has diverse landscapes, including the Negev Desert, the coastal plain, and the mountainous regions of Galilee and Judea.
  • Government: Israel is a parliamentary democracy.
  • Currency: Israeli New Shekel (ILS)
  • Notable Places: Israel is known for historical sites like the Western Wall, the Dead Sea, and the city of Tel Aviv.
  • Official Website: https://www.gov.il/en

What is the significance of Jerusalem in Israel?

Jerusalem is a city of great religious significance, hosting holy sites for Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. It is home to the Western Wall, the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, and the Dome of the Rock.

Is Israel a predominantly Jewish country?

Yes, Israel is known as a Jewish state, with the majority of its population practicing Judaism.

What is the Dead Sea famous for?

The Dead Sea is known for its high salt concentration, allowing people to float effortlessly on its surface. It is also famous for its therapeutic mud.

Are there UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Israel?

Yes, Israel has several UNESCO World Heritage Sites, including the Old City of Jerusalem, Masada, and the Bahá’í Holy Places in Haifa and the Western Galilee.

Israel map
Israel map


See More: