Provinces in Iran

Iran is divided into 31 provinces. Here is a list of all the provinces in Iran:

Provinces in Iran

  1. Alborz
  2. Ardabil
  3. East Azerbaijan (Azarbaijan-e Sharqi)
  4. West Azerbaijan (Azarbaijan-e Gharbi)
  5. Bushehr
  6. Chaharmahal and Bakhtiari
  7. Fars
  8. Gilan
  9. Golestan
  10. Hamadan
  11. Hormozgan
  12. Ilam
  13. Isfahan
  14. Kerman
  15. Kermanshah
  16. North Khorasan (Khorasan-e Shomali)
  17. Razavi Khorasan (Khorasan-e Razavi)
  18. South Khorasan (Khorasan-e Jonubi)
  19. Khuzestan
  20. Kohgiluyeh and Boyer-Ahmad
  21. Kurdistan
  22. Lorestan
  23. Markazi
  24. Mazandaran
  25. Qazvin
  26. Qom
  27. Semnan
  28. Sistan and Baluchestan
  29. Tehran
  30. Yazd
  31. Zanjan

Quick Facts

  • Location: Iran is located in Western Asia, bordered by Armenia, Azerbaijan, Turkmenistan, the Caspian Sea, Afghanistan, and Pakistan.
  • Capital: Tehran
  • Official Language: Persian
  • Population: Approximately 85 million (2022)
  • Area: Iran covers an area of about 1.65 million square kilometers (636,372 square miles).
  • Geography: Iran has diverse landscapes, including deserts, mountains, and coastlines along the Persian Gulf and the Caspian Sea.
  • Government: Iran is an Islamic republic with a political system combining elements of democracy and theocracy.
  • Currency: Iranian Rial (IRR)
  • Notable Places: Iran is known for historical sites such as Persepolis, Isfahan’s Naqsh-e Jahan Square, and the ancient city of Shiraz.
  • Official Website:

What is the significance of Persepolis in Iran?

Persepolis is an ancient city and ceremonial capital of the Achaemenid Empire, known for its historical and archaeological importance.

Is Iran a predominantly Muslim country?

Yes, the majority of the population in Iran adheres to Islam, with Shia Islam being the predominant branch.

What is the traditional Iranian cuisine?

Iranian cuisine is diverse and includes dishes like kebabs, stews (such as ghormeh sabzi), and rice-based dishes like pilaf.

Are there UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Iran?

Yes, Iran has numerous UNESCO World Heritage Sites, including Persepolis, Naqsh-e Jahan Square in Isfahan, and the ancient city of Yazd.

Iran map
Iran map


See More: