Districts in Sierra Leone

Sierra Leone is divided into 14 districts. Here is a list of all the districts in Sierra Leone:

Districts in Sierra Leone

  1. Bombali
  2. Bonthe
  3. Falaba
  4. Kailahun
  5. Kambia
  6. Kenema
  7. Koinadugu
  8. Kono
  9. Moyamba
  10. Port Loko
  11. Pujehun
  12. Tonkolili
  13. Western Area (includes the capital, Freetown)
  14. Western Area Rural

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location West African country, bordered by Guinea to the north and northeast, Liberia to the southeast, and the Atlantic Ocean to the southwest
Capital Freetown
Official Language English
Population Approximately 8 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 71,740 square kilometers (27,700 square miles)
Geography Features a diverse landscape with coastal plains, interior plateaus, and mountains.
Independence From the United Kingdom on April 27, 1961
Government Republic with a presidential system
Currency Sierra Leonean leone (SLL)
Notable Places Tiwai Island, Tacugama Chimpanzee Sanctuary, Outamba-Kilimi National Park
Official Website [Official Government Portal of Sierra Leone](https://www.statehouse.gov.sl/)


Districts in Sierra Leone map and flag
Districts in Sierra Leone map and flag


What is the primary economic activity in Sierra Leone?

Agriculture, particularly subsistence farming, is a major economic activity in Sierra Leone, along with mineral resources.

Are there any protected areas in Sierra Leone for wildlife conservation?

Yes, Sierra Leone has several protected areas and parks, including Tacugama Chimpanzee Sanctuary and Outamba-Kilimi National Park.

What is the culture of Sierra Leone like, and are there any traditional festivals?

Sierra Leone has a rich cultural heritage with diverse ethnic groups. Traditional festivals like the Bubu dance are celebrated.

See More: