Districts in Botswana

Here is a list of all the districts and authorities of Botswana:

Districts in Botswana

  1. Central District
  2. Ghanzi District
  3. Kgalagadi District
  4. Kgatleng District
  5. Kweneng District
  6. North-East District
  7. North-West District
  8. South-East District
  9. Southern District
  10. Chobe District
  11. Francistown
  12. Gaborone
  13. Ghanzi
  14. Jwaneng
  15. Kasane
  16. Lobatse
  17. Maun


Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Southern Africa
Capital Gaborone
Official Language English and Setswana
Population Approximately 2.4 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 581,730 square kilometers (224,610 square miles)
Geography Mostly flat, with the Kalahari Desert covering much of the country
Independence From the United Kingdom on September 30, 1966
Government Republic with a multi-party system
Currency Botswana Pula (BWP)
Notable Places Okavango Delta, Chobe National Park, Tsodilo Hills (UNESCO World Heritage Site)
Official Website https://www.gov.bw/


What are the 10 districts in Botswana?

The ten districts are:

  • Central District
  • Ghanzi District
  • Kgalagadi District
  • Kgatleng District
  • Kweneng District
  • North-East District
  • North-West District
  • South-East District
  • Southern District
  • Chobe District

These districts serve as the primary subdivisions for administrative purposes.