Districts in São Tomé and Príncipe

São Tomé and Príncipe is divided into 7 districts. Here is a list of the districts in São Tomé and Príncipe:


  1. Água Grande
  2. Cantagalo
  3. Caué
  4. Lembá
  5. Lobata
  6. Mé-Zóchi
  7. Pagué

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Island nation in the Gulf of Guinea, located off the coast of Central Africa
Capital São Tomé
Official Language Portuguese
Population Approximately 220,000 as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 1,001 square kilometers (386 square miles)
Geography Comprises two main islands, São Tomé and Príncipe, and several smaller islets, with lush rainforests and volcanic terrain.
Independence From Portugal on July 12, 1975
Government Democratic republic with a multi-party system
Currency São Tomé and Príncipe dobra (STN)
Notable Places Obo National Park, São Tomé City, Roca Agostinho Neto
Official Website [Official Government Portal of São Tomé and Príncipe](https://www.gov.st/)


São Tomé and Príncipe map and flag
São Tomé and Príncipe map and flag


What is the primary economic activity in São Tomé and Príncipe?

Agriculture, particularly cocoa and coffee production, is a significant economic activity in São Tomé and Príncipe.

Are there any endangered species in the country’s national parks?

Yes, Obo National Park is home to various endangered species, including the São Tomé grosbeak and Newton’s kestrel.

Is Portuguese the only language spoken in São Tomé and Príncipe?

Portuguese is the official language, but São Toméan Creole is widely spoken in daily life.


See More: