Districts in Libya

Libya is divided into 22 districts. Here is a list of all the districts in Libya:

Districts in Libya

  1. Benghazi
  2. Al Butnan
  3. Derna
  4. Ghat
  5. Ghat
  6. Jabal al Akhdar
  7. Jabal al Gharbi
  8. Jafara
  9. Jufra
  10. Kufra
  11. Marj
  12. Murzuq
  13. Murzuq
  14. Nalut
  15. Nalut
  16. Sabha
  17. Sabha
  18. Sirte
  19. Tripoli
  20. Wadi al Hayat
  21. Wadi al Shatii
  22. Zawiya

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location West Africa, bordered by Sierra Leone, Guinea, Cote d’Ivoire, and the Atlantic Ocean
Capital Monrovia
Official Language English
Population Approximately 5.1 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 111,369 square kilometers (43,000 square miles)
Geography Diverse with a coastline, rainforests, and hilly terrain
Independence From the United States on July 26, 1847
Government Unitary presidential republic
Currency Liberian dollar (LRD)
Notable Places Sapo National Park, Providence Island, Firestone Rubber Plantation
Official Website https://www.micat.gov.lr/


How many districts are there in Libya?

Since 2007, Libya has been split into 22 governmental units, which are called districts. (Arabic singular sha’biyah, plural sha’biyat).

How many regions are in Libya?

Libya is divided into 22 administrative regions, known as “muhafazat” in Arabic. These regions are the primary subdivisions of the country and play a role in local governance and administration. Each region is further divided into districts.

What are the provinces in Libya?

Libya is not traditionally divided into provinces. Instead, the country is organized into administrative regions known as “muhafazat.” These regions serve as the primary administrative divisions of Libya. While the term “province” is used in some countries to refer to similar administrative divisions, in Libya, the official term for these divisions is “muhafazat.”

As mentioned earlier, Libya is divided into 22 muhafazat, each with its own local governance and administrative structure. These muhafazat are the equivalent of regions and are used for administrative and governance purposes within the country.

What district is Tripoli in?

Tripoli, the capital city of Libya, is not located within a specific district. Instead, Tripoli is one of the 22 administrative regions, known as “muhafazat,” of Libya. It serves as its own administrative region and is both the largest city and the administrative capital of the country. Tripoli is separate from other muhafazat and functions as an independent region.

See More: