Districts in Bhutan

Bhutan is divided into 20 districts. Here is a list of all the districts in Bhutan:

Districts in Bhutan

  1. Bumthang
  2. Chhukha
  3. Dagana
  4. Gasa
  5. Haa
  6. Lhuntse
  7. Mongar
  8. Paro
  9. Pemagatshel
  10. Punakha
  11. Samdrup Jongkhar
  12. Samtse
  13. Sarpang
  14. Thimphu
  15. Trashigang
  16. Trashiyangtse
  17. Trongsa
  18. Tsirang
  19. Wangdue Phodrang
  20. Zhemgang

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Located in the Eastern Himalayas, landlocked between India to the south, east, and west, and China to the north.
Capital Thimphu
Official Language Dzongkha
Population Approximately 800,000 as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 38,394 square kilometers (14,824 square miles)
Geography Mountainous terrain with the Eastern Himalayas and the beautiful Paro Valley.
Government Constitutional Monarchy
Currency Bhutanese Ngultrum (BTN)
Notable Places Taktsang Monastery (Tiger’s Nest), Punakha Dzong, Phobjikha Valley, Rinpung Dzong
Official Website [Official Government Portal of Bhutan](https://www.bhutan.gov.bt/)


Bhutan map and flag
Bhutan map and flag


What is the significance of the Taktsang Monastery (Tiger’s Nest) in Bhutan?

The Taktsang Monastery, also known as the Tiger’s Nest, is one of Bhutan’s most iconic monasteries. It is perched on the edge of a cliff and offers breathtaking views. It’s a sacred site and a symbol of Bhutanese culture.

What is Punakha Dzong famous for in Bhutan?

Punakha Dzong, also known as the “Palace of Great Happiness,” is a majestic fortress and administrative center. It is known for its stunning architecture and historical importance.

Can tourists visit the Phobjikha Valley in Bhutan?

Yes, the Phobjikha Valley is a popular destination for tourists. It is known for its natural beauty and the annual arrival of black-necked cranes, which are considered sacred in Bhutan.

Read More: