Provinces, Regions and SARs in China

China is divided into 23 provinces, 5 autonomous regions, 4 direct-controlled municipalities, and 2 Special Administrative Regions (SARs). Here is a list of all the provinces, autonomous regions, municipalities, and SARs in China:

Provinces in China

  1. Anhui
  2. Fujian
  3. Gansu
  4. Guangdong
  5. Guizhou
  6. Hainan
  7. Hebei
  8. Heilongjiang
  9. Henan
  10. Hubei
  11. Hunan
  12. Jiangsu
  13. Jiangxi
  14. Jilin
  15. Liaoning
  16. Qinghai
  17. Shaanxi
  18. Shandong
  19. Shanxi
  20. Sichuan
  21. Yunnan
  22. Zhejiang

Autonomous Regions

  1. Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region
  2. Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region
  3. Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region
  4. Tibet Autonomous Region
  5. Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region

Direct-Controlled Municipalities

  1. Beijing
  2. Chongqing
  3. Shanghai
  4. Tianjin

Special Administrative Regions (SARs)

  1. Hong Kong SAR
  2. Macau SAR

Quick Facts about China

China is a vast and diverse country with a rich history and culture. Here are some quick facts about China:

  • Location: China is located in East Asia and is the world’s most populous country, sharing borders with 14 other countries.
  • Capital: Beijing
  • Official Language: Standard Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Population: With over 1.4 billion people, China is the most populous country in the world.
  • Area: China’s land area is approximately 9.6 million square kilometers, making it the third-largest country by area.
  • Geography: China’s landscapes vary from mountains (e.g., the Himalayas) to vast plains, deserts, and a lengthy coastline along the Pacific Ocean.
  • Government: The People’s Republic of China is governed as a one-party socialist republic.
  • Currency: Renminbi (RMB) or Yuan (CNY)
  • Notable Places: China boasts numerous historic and natural landmarks, including the Great Wall, the Forbidden City, the Terracotta Army, the Yangtze River, and the karst landscapes in Guilin.
  • Official Website: Official Government Portal of China:


China map
China map

What is the Great Wall of China, and why is it famous?

The Great Wall of China is a series of fortifications made of stone, brick, tamped earth, wood, and other materials. It was built to protect China from invasions and is famous for being one of the most impressive architectural feats in history.

What is the Forbidden City, and can tourists visit it?

The Forbidden City, also known as the Imperial Palace, is a palace complex in Beijing. It was the imperial palace from the Ming Dynasty to the end of the Qing Dynasty. Today, it is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and open to tourists, offering a glimpse into China’s imperial history.

What is the significance of the Terracotta Army in China?

The Terracotta Army is a collection of thousands of life-sized clay soldiers, horses, and chariots buried with China’s first emperor, Qin Shi Huang. It is considered one of the most important archaeological discoveries in the world.

How does China’s government work, and who is the current leader?

China is governed as a one-party socialist republic with the Communist Party of China (CPC) in power. Xi Jinping serves as the General Secretary of the CPC and the President of the People’s Republic of China.

What is the significance of the Yangtze River in China?

The Yangtze River is the longest river in Asia and plays a crucial role in China’s history and economy. It’s known for its stunning landscapes and is home to the famous Three Gorges.

See More: