Prefectures in the Central African Republic

Here is a list of all the administrative divisions (prefectures) of the Central African Republic:

Prefectures in the Central African Republic

  1. Bamingui-Bangoran
  2. Bangui (Capital District)
  3. Basse-Kotto
  4. Haute-Kotto
  5. Haut-Mbomou
  6. Kémo
  7. Lobaye
  8. Mambéré-Kadéï
  9. Mbomou
  10. Nana-Grébizi
  11. Nana-Mambéré
  12. Ombella-M’Poko
  13. Ouaka
  14. Ouham
  15. Ouham-Pendé
  16. Sangha-Mbaéré
  17. Vakaga
Central African Republic
Central African Republic


Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Central Africa
Capital Bangui
Official Languages French and Sango
Population Approximately 4.7 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 622,984 square kilometers (240,535 square miles)
Geography Landlocked with a diverse landscape of forests, savannas, and rivers
Independence From France on August 13, 1960
Government Unitary semi-presidential republic
Currency Central African CFA franc (XAF)
Notable Places Manovo-Gounda St. Floris National Park (UNESCO World Heritage Site), Dzanga-Sangha Reserve
Official Website


How many states are there in Central African Republic?

  • There are 20 states (or prefectures) in the Central African Republic

What are the 7 countries in Central Africa?

The 7 countries in Central Africa are:

  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Congo (Republic of the Congo)
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC)
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Gabon

What is the old name for Central African Republic?

  • The old name for the Central African Republic was Ubangi-Shari. It was named after the two major rivers that flow through the country, the Ubangi River and the Chari River.

Is Central African Republic a country or state?

  • The Central African Republic (CAR) is a country in Central Africa. The CAR gained independence from France in 1960 and is recognized as a sovereign nation. It is not a state within another country, but an independent country itself.

Related: Countries in the World