Regions in Guinea-Bissau

Guinea-Bissau is divided into 8 administrative regions. Here is a list of all the regions in Guinea-Bissau:

List of regions in Guinea-Bissau

  1. Bafatá
  2. Biombo
  3. Bissau (Autonomous Sector)
  4. Bolama-Bijagós
  5. Cacheu
  6. Gabú
  7. Oio
  8. Quinara
  9. Tombali

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location West Africa, bordered by Senegal and the Atlantic Ocean
Capital Bissau
Official Language Portuguese
Population Approximately 2 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 36,125 square kilometers (13,948 square miles)
Geography Low-lying coastal plains with a maze of rivers and estuaries
Independence From Portugal on September 24, 1973
Government Semi-presidential republic
Currency West African CFA franc (XOF)
Notable Places Orango Islands, Bijagós Archipelago, Varela Beach
Official Website Not available


What are the 8 regions of Guinea-Bissau?

  1. Bafatá: Bafatá is located in the eastern part of Guinea-Bissau. It is known for its agricultural activities, including rice cultivation, and is one of the country’s primary rice-producing regions.
  2. Biombo: This is the smallest region and is situated along the coast in the west of Guinea-Bissau. It includes the capital city, Bissau.
  3. Bolama: Bolama is an island region in the Bijagós Archipelago, known for its stunning natural beauty and unique ecosystems.
  4. Cacheu: Cacheu is located in the north of Guinea-Bissau and is known for its historical significance, as it was a center for Portuguese colonial activities.
  5. Gabú: Located in the northeast, Gabú is one of the country’s regions with a significant agricultural and ethnic diversity.
  6. Oio: Oio is known for its agricultural activities, including the cultivation of cashew nuts, which are an important export product for Guinea-Bissau.
  7. Quinara: This region is situated in the southwestern part of the country and is known for its mangroves, rice fields, and fishing.
  8. Tombali: Tombali is in the southern part of Guinea-Bissau and is known for its coastal areas, farming, and fishing.

What is the geography of Guinea-Bissau?

  1. Coastline: Guinea-Bissau has a 350-kilometer (217-mile) long coastline along the Atlantic Ocean. The coastal areas are characterized by sandy beaches, estuaries, and mangrove swamps.
  2. Bijagós Archipelago: Just off the coast of Guinea-Bissau, you’ll find the Bijagós Archipelago, which consists of numerous islands and islets. The archipelago is known for its unique ecosystems, including mangroves and diverse wildlife.
  3. Rivers and estuaries: There are numerous rivers in Guinea-Bissau, with the Geba and the Corubal being the most significant. These rivers form extensive estuaries, providing fertile areas for agriculture and fishing.
  4. Mangrove Swamps: Vast mangrove swamps cover the coastal areas and river estuaries, serving as nurseries for many marine species and being important ecosystems for biodiversity.
  5. Highlands: Guinea-Bissau features highland areas, with the northern part of the country being the most mountainous. The Fouta Djallon Plateau extends into Guinea-Bissau, providing a more elevated landscape.
  6. Savannah and Forests: Inland areas consist of savannah grasslands, woodlands, and forests, including the Guinea-Bissau Forest Zone, which is rich in biodiversity.
  7. Climate: Guinea-Bissau experiences a tropical climate with distinct wet and dry seasons. The rainy season typically occurs from June to October, while the dry season is from November to May.
  8. Wildlife: The country’s diverse ecosystems support a wide variety of wildlife, including various bird species, primates, and aquatic life in the rivers and estuaries.
  9. Agriculture: The country’s geography is conducive to agriculture, with rice, cashew nuts, palm oil, and other crops being grown in different regions.
  10. Islands: In addition to the Bijagós Archipelago, Guinea-Bissau has other islands along its coast, each with its own unique features.

What are the 2 borders of Guinea-Bissau?

Guinea-Bissau shares its borders with two countries. These are:

  1. Senegal: Guinea-Bissau’s northern and eastern borders are adjacent to Senegal. The two countries have a land border that extends for several hundred kilometers.
  2. Guinea: To the south and southeast, Guinea-Bissau shares its border with the Republic of Guinea (also known as Guinea-Conakry). This border separates Guinea-Bissau from its southern neighbor.

How many ethnicities are there in Guinea-Bissau?

Guinea-Bissau is a diverse and multi-ethnic country with numerous ethnic groups. The exact number of ethnicities can be challenging to determine precisely due to the complexity of ethnic identification and the presence of various subgroups. However, some of the major ethnic groups in Guinea-Bissau include:

  1. Fula (Fulani): The Fula people are one of the largest ethnic groups in Guinea-Bissau, primarily found in the northern and northeastern regions of the country.
  2. Mandinka (Mandingo): The Mandinka people are predominantly located in the eastern part of Guinea-Bissau.
  3. Balanta: The Balanta are one of the largest ethnic groups in Guinea-Bissau and are mainly found in the southern and central regions of the country.
  4. Manjaco: The Manjaco people are primarily located in the coastal and central regions of Guinea-Bissau.
  5. Papel: The Papel people are found in the coastal areas and islands, particularly in the Bijagós Archipelago.
  6. Bijagós: The Bijagós people are native to the Bijagós Archipelago and have a distinct culture and language.
  7. Biafada: The Biafada people are found in the southern coastal areas of Guinea-Bissau.
  8. Nalu: The Nalu people live in the coastal regions of Guinea-Bissau.
  9. Felupe: The Felupe people are primarily located in the northern and eastern regions of Guinea-Bissau.
  10. Bijago: The Bijago people are native to the Bijagós Archipelago and have a distinct culture and language.

These are some of the major ethnic groups in Guinea-Bissau, but there are additional smaller ethnic groups and subgroups, contributing to the country’s rich cultural diversity.


Guinea-Bissau flag
Guinea-Bissau flag


See More: