Provinces in South Africa

South Africa is divided into 9 provinces. Here is a list of all the provinces in South Africa:

Provinces in South Africa

  1. Eastern Cape
  2. Free State
  3. Gauteng
  4. KwaZulu-Natal
  5. Limpopo
  6. Mpumalanga
  7. North West
  8. Northern Cape
  9. Western Cape

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Located at the southern tip of the African continent, bordered by Namibia to the northwest, Botswana and Zimbabwe to the north, Mozambique to the northeast, and the Indian and Atlantic Oceans to the south.
Capital Pretoria (administrative), Bloemfontein (judicial), and Cape Town (legislative)
Official Languages 11 official languages, including Zulu, Xhosa, Afrikaans, English, and others
Population Approximately 60 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 1,221,037 square kilometers (471,445 square miles)
Geography Diverse landscapes including mountains, savannas, and a long coastline along two oceans.
Independence From the United Kingdom on May 31, 1961
Government Republic with a parliamentary system
Currency South African Rand (ZAR)
Notable Places Table Mountain, Kruger National Park, Robben Island, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
Official Website [Official Government Portal of South Africa]


What is the significance of Robben Island in South Africa?

Robben Island is known for its historical role as a political prison, where Nelson Mandela was incarcerated. It is now a UNESCO World Heritage site.

Is wildlife tourism popular in South Africa?

Yes, South Africa is famous for its wildlife and is a top destination for safaris. Kruger National Park is a renowned wildlife reserve.

What is the cultural diversity of South Africa like?

South Africa is known for its cultural diversity, with a rich tapestry of traditions, languages, and art. The country celebrates Heritage Day to showcase this diversity.

See More: