Provinces in Gabon

Gabon is divided into 9 provinces. Here is a list of all the provinces in Gabon:

List of all Provinces in Gabon

  1. Estuaire
  2. Haut-Ogooué
  3. Moyen-Ogooué
  4. Ngounié
  5. Nyanga
  6. Ogooué-Ivindo
  7. Ogooué-Lolo
  8. Ogooué-Maritime
  9. Woleu-Ntem

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Central Africa, bordered by Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, and the Republic of the Congo
Capital Libreville
Official Language French
Population Approximately 2.3 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 267,667 square kilometers (103,347 square miles)
Geography Diverse with rainforests, savannas, and a coastline along the Atlantic Ocean
Independence From France on August 17, 1960
Government Presidential republic
Currency Central African CFA franc (XAF)
Notable Places Loango National Park, Lopé National Park, Pointe-Denis Beach
Official Website Not available


How is Gabon divided?

Gabon has nine provinces, each with its own capital city. The provinces of Gabon are as follows:

  • Estuaire Province (capital: Libreville)
  • Haut-Ogooué Province (capital: Franceville)
  • Moyen-Ogooué Province (capital: Lambaréné)
  • Ngounié Province (capital: Mouila)
  • Nyanga Province (capital: Tchibanga)
  • Ogooué-Ivindo Province (capital: Makokou)
  • Ogooué-Lolo Province (capital: Koulamoutou)
  • Ogooué-Maritime Province (capital: Port-Gentil)
  • Woleu-Ntem Province (capital: Oyem)

What is the main city of Gabon?

  • The main city and capital of Gabon is Libreville. It is located on the north shore of the Gabon Estuary, near the Gulf of Guinea. With a population of over half a million people, Libreville serves as a major port and is the country’s most populous urban center.
Gabon map and flag
Gabon map and flag


See more: