Provinces in Rwanda

Rwanda is divided into 5 provinces. Here is a list of all the provinces in Rwanda:

Provinces in Rwanda

  1. Kigali (City of Kigali is also a province)
  2. Eastern Province
  3. Northern Province
  4. Western Province
  5. Southern Province

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Landlocked country in East-Central Africa, bordered by Uganda to the north, Tanzania to the east, Burundi to the south, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west
Capital Kigali
Official Languages Kinyarwanda, French, and English
Population Approximately 13.3 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 26,338 square kilometers (10,169 square miles)
Geography Known as the “Land of a Thousand Hills,” Rwanda has a hilly and mountainous terrain, with many lakes and rivers.
Independence From Belgium on July 1, 1962
Government Unitary semi-presidential republic
Currency Rwandan franc (RWF)
Notable Places Volcanoes National Park, Lake Kivu, Nyungwe Forest
Official Website [Official Government Portal of Rwanda](



Rwanda map, flag and coat of arm
Rwanda map, flag and coat of arm


What is the significance of Volcanoes National Park in Rwanda?

Volcanoes National Park is famous for its mountain gorilla population and was the base for Dian Fossey’s research on gorillas.

What languages are spoken in Rwanda, and which one is the most common?

Kinyarwanda, French, and English are official languages, with Kinyarwanda being the most commonly spoken.

Does Rwanda have any major cultural festivals?

Yes, Rwanda hosts various cultural festivals, including the Umuganura harvest festival and the Kwita Izina gorilla naming ceremony.

See More: