Provinces in Burkina Faso


Here is a list of all the provinces of Burkina Faso:

All Provinces in Burkina Faso

  1. Balé
  2. Bam
  3. Banwa
  4. Bazèga
  5. Boucle du Mouhoun
  6. Boulgou
  7. Boulkiemdé
  8. Comoé
  9. Département du Léraba
  10. Département du Tuy
  11. Gnagna
  12. Gourma
  13. Houet
  14. Ioba
  15. Kadiogo
  16. Kénédougou
  17. Komondjari
  18. Kompienga
  19. Kossi
  20. Koulpélogo
  21. Kouritenga
  22. Kourwéogo
  23. Léraba
  24. Loroum
  25. Mouhoun
  26. Nahouri
  27. Namentenga
  28. Nayala
  29. Noumbiel
  30. Oubritenga
  31. Oudalan
  32. Passoré
  33. Poni
  34. Sanguie
  35. Sanmatenga
  36. Séno
  37. Sissili
  38. Soum
  39. Sourou
  40. Tapoa
  41. Tui
  42. Yagha
  43. Yatenga
  44. Ziro
  45. Zondoma
  46. Zoundwéogo
Burkina Faso
Burkina Faso


Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location West Africa
Capital Ouagadougou
Official Language French
Population Approximately 21 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 274,200 square kilometers (105,900 square miles)
Geography Predominantly flat with savannas and grasslands
Independence From France on August 5, 1960
Government Unitary semi-presidential republic
Currency West African CFA franc (XOF)
Notable Places Ruins of Loropéni (UNESCO World Heritage Site), Banfora Cascades, Arli National Park
Official Website


How many provinces are there in Burkina Faso?

there are 46 provinces in Burkina Faso

How is Burkina Faso divided?

Burkina Faso has several administrative divisions. The country is organized into 13 regions; it is further divided into provinces, departments, and communes.

Which province is Ouagadougou in?

Ouagadougou is located in the Kadiogo Province of Burkina Faso. The Kadiogo Province is situated within the Centre Region of the country. It covers an area of approximately 2,805 square kilometers and is home to a population of around 3,032,668 as of 2019.

How many cities are in Burkina Faso?

Burkina Faso has several cities

  • Ouagadougou
  • Bobo-Dioulasso
  • Koudougou
  • Ouahigouya
  • Banfora
  • Dedougou

Related: Countries in the World

Previous article
Next article
Ed Efet
Ed Efet
Efukikata Efet is an experienced writer who excels in both technical and creative writing. He holds the position of Chief Editor at Triple Cross Communication Ltd. Since 2016, he has served as a content creator and chief editor at EditorialTimes. Efukikata Efet, a dynamic individual, consistently demonstrates professionalism in all his endeavors.



More like this

Cities, Towns and Villages in Phillips County, Arkansas

List of Cities, Towns, and Villages in Phillips County,...

Towns and Places in East Carroll Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in East Carroll Parish, Louisiana Cities There...

Towns and Places in East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana Cities There...

Cities, Towns, Places in Evangeline Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in Evangeline Parish, Louisiana Cities There is...